Glazed Pearl Onions With Raisins And Almonds Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
I have made this many times and it always get rave reviews. Thanks so much. Just had today with the Thanksgiving turkey. My son loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
My sister made this for Thanksgiving. When she told me the ingredients I thought it sounded really weird. Boy was I wrong, It's really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Gordon-Armstead

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Waco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2006
This was delicious. I brought it to a pot luck and everyone raved about it. The only change I made was to cook it UNcovered. I cooked it for an hour and a half and the liquid never reduced with it covered. Once I uncovered it, things moved along smoothly. Also, I used two bags of frozen pearl onions to make things go faster.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
I have been using this recipe on demand of my family for Thanksgiving for many years now. It is delicious with any meat or poultry. I use golden raisins, sherry vinegar, and on occasion I've added some shredded carrot at the end for color. This is now a family recipe that I will be passing on to the younger cooks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
Great recipe. Don't be tempted to use frozen onions. There is a huge difference in taste between the fresh and the frozen ones. Yes, it takes a while to squeeze the onions out of the skin, but well worth the extra effort. In fact, I would recommend never using frozen vegetables. They just aren't as flavorful as fresh and usually have a taste of being watered down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Coupeville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2006
I was applauded with these onions and had been asked for the recipe at my dinner party. I used frozen pearl onions the 2nd time as cleaning the onions was tedious. Do not cook the frozen onions the time suggested as it gets mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2002
Sooooooo tasty! Yum! For amusement I used golden raisins because they end up looking just like the onions. One of my friends ate half the meal before realizing why it was so sweet :-) But, FOR THE LOVE OF GOD, use pre-skinned onions. You do not know the meaning of tedium until you have skinned 150 miniature onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2004
This was delicious! What a surprise. I tired it as a chutney-type dish with Indian chicken, but I think it would go great with any white meat dish. REALLY tasty, and different, which is always nice for guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corner Brook, Newfoundland, Canada
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2005
Easy to make and a smash hit to taste. This side dish was the first to go at the Christmas table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2006
This dish made me the hit of the party!! I made it the night before, refrigerated it after cooling it to room temperature, and then reheated it over a skillet. Then I served it bruschetta style on toasted french bread and goat cheese. The combination and flavor were gourmet! The only negative would be how time consuming the process was. I won't do this anytime soon, but the next party I need to impress people ;)...I'll be making this dish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Beans with Pearl Onions

An easy balsamic glaze provides a flavor twist to this classic green beans dish.

Glazed Butternut Squash

Learn how to make maple syrup- and dark rum-glazed butternut squash.

Bourbon Glazed Carrots

See how to make the perfect special occasion side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States