Glazed Pearl Onions With Raisins And Almonds Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2001
It was a wonderfull dish that i made on christmas for a large group of peaple. I ended up sending the recipie home with 3 peaple. It makes a great dish to go with ham!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2002
Sooooooo tasty! Yum! For amusement I used golden raisins because they end up looking just like the onions. One of my friends ate half the meal before realizing why it was so sweet :-) But, FOR THE LOVE OF GOD, use pre-skinned onions. You do not know the meaning of tedium until you have skinned 150 miniature onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2004
This was delicious! What a surprise. I tired it as a chutney-type dish with Indian chicken, but I think it would go great with any white meat dish. REALLY tasty, and different, which is always nice for guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corner Brook, Newfoundland, Canada
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2004
I made this for Thanksgiving and enjoyed it very much. It was going to take well over 45 minutes to cook down at "very low" so turned mine up a bit and stirred a little more often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2005
Easy to make and a smash hit to taste. This side dish was the first to go at the Christmas table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2006
This dish made me the hit of the party!! I made it the night before, refrigerated it after cooling it to room temperature, and then reheated it over a skillet. Then I served it bruschetta style on toasted french bread and goat cheese. The combination and flavor were gourmet! The only negative would be how time consuming the process was. I won't do this anytime soon, but the next party I need to impress people ;)...I'll be making this dish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2006
I had this mixed with white rice and sweet italian sausage and it was delicious! I think this is another recipe where it tastes better the next day after the flavors have had a chance to gel so you might consider making this a day in advance. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANJA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alameda, California, USA
Living In: Concord, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2006
I was applauded with these onions and had been asked for the recipe at my dinner party. I used frozen pearl onions the 2nd time as cleaning the onions was tedious. Do not cook the frozen onions the time suggested as it gets mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2006
This was delicious. I brought it to a pot luck and everyone raved about it. The only change I made was to cook it UNcovered. I cooked it for an hour and a half and the liquid never reduced with it covered. Once I uncovered it, things moved along smoothly. Also, I used two bags of frozen pearl onions to make things go faster.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
I too cooked these uncovered. I think I might have chosen the wrong audience for this dish as it wasn't very well received & I thought it was very good. I used golden raisins because I was out of regualr. My one complaint (other than the fact that it didn't wow my guests ;o) ) is that the raisins got a little "charred" but perhaps I caramelized teh onions too much. Thansk Christine... I will try this recipe again on guests w/ a more sophisticated palate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beans with Pearl Onions

An easy balsamic glaze provides a flavor twist to this classic green beans dish.

Glazed Butternut Squash

Learn how to make maple syrup- and dark rum-glazed butternut squash.

Bourbon Glazed Carrots

See how to make the perfect special occasion side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States