Glazed Meatloaf I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
This is the only recipe my mom used while I was growing up. The only difference is she doubled the glaze and used half in the meat and reserved the rest to use ontop. It makes a huge difference and makes the meatloaf very moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
I never really liked meatloaf but my husband wanted it so I went ahead and tried it. He said it was the best ever! Even better than his mom's! Even I like it! The things I did differently: I didn't add lemon juice, I used oats (about a cup) instead of bread crumbs or pieces of bread, reduced the brown sugar to 1/4, placed two pieces of bread on the bottom to soak up the excess fat, used regular mustard not mustard powder, used onion powder instead of onion and added garlic powder as well. Hope this helps!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 92babydoll

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
This is a great starter recipe for someone who is new to or has never had a meatloaf they enjoyed. I would definitely recommend this as a jumping off point for people. This recipe is fairly similar to the one I currently use. I usually don't measure when I make meatloaf, but I followed this recipe exactly to see if I liked the product better. I liked the addition of the lemon in the glaze as it adds a nice dimension to the flavor. However, I felt it was too overpowering to have the lemon in the meatloaf as well. It detracted too much from the savory flavors of the meatloaf and is primarily responsible for my 3-star rating. In addition, some of the proportions were off (for our tastes), leaving the meatloaf less firm and flavorful than when more onion and breadcrumbs and (non-lemon) glaze are used in the meat. I will go back to my favorite meatloaf recipe, but I WILL begin adding lemon juice to my glaze. This recipe is definitely worth a try, as I said, it is a great jumping off point. I think as people tweak it to their tastes, each person will find THEIR 5-star version of meatloaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
Very tasty. It is a nice change from normal meatloaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
Amazing! Turned out so good. This has quickly become my new favorite! I added onions and green peppers to it and it was fabulous. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
Really good...for meatloaf :) the glaze makes ALL the difference for us. My son will even eat this. Followed the recipe exactly. Do make extra glaze for dipping. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
This is a fantastic recipe and one of my husbands favorites! I followed the recipe exactly and it came out delicious. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by debskitchen

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
So amazing! The sauce is delicious! My friend, the Queen of meatloaf, now is begging for my recipe! :-) I refuse so that I can keep my crown as the New Queen of Meatloaf. :-) *I did add a little milk to the receipe. Came out extremely moist!*
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
So far looking good in the oven:) can't wait to try it! Baked cut up red potatoes with oregano, salt, a pinch of cayenne and paprika...smells good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
I actually used this recipe for the glaze. I had bought a pound and a half of prepared uncooked meatloaf at Draegers. It didn't look like enough for our family so I added very lean ground beef to it, two pieces of bread torn with crust removed, one egg, and salt and pepper and a bit of catsup. I did use the glaze from this recipe subsituting cider vinegar for the lemon juice. Cooked the meatload in a mound on a foil covered baking sheet surrounded by potatoes. Roasted for a bit over an hour. Then transfered the potatoes to a bowl and moved the meatloaf to a cassarole where I glazed with sauce. I was afraid that the sauce would just slide off the meat so I wanted to "catch it" in the cassarole. Didn't need to do that since it did stay put on the meat. Did bake more like 20 minutes more to get it a bit darker brown which we like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 71-80 (of 904) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Glazed Meatloaf II

The yummy glaze makes this meatloaf moist and delicious.

Coco's Meatloaf

See how to make a comfort food classic, Nashville-style.

Easy Meatloaf

A simple, no-fail beef meatloaf with a tangy topping that's ready in no time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States