Glazed Lemon Supreme Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2008
my daughter makes this for all our family gatherings!!! We all love it ..Tastes great, very moist...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2008
GREAT! When I add the following changes, it came out DELICIOUS! I noticed it tastes better when you add 1/2 package of lemon gelatin and 1 full package lemon pudding in it works best. Also put 1/4 sour cream to make the cake moist. For the icing I found this to be better: 1/4 cup sour cream 2 1/2 tablespoons butter, softened 2 1/2 cups confectioners' sugar 4 tablespoons lemon juice For icing, in a small mixing bowl, beat the sour cream and butter until blended. Gradually add confectioners' sugar. Beat in lemon juice. Drizzle over the cake. Store in the refrigerator.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2008
This was the best cake I have ever made!! I used the pudding instead of the gelatin and lemon juice instead of lemon extract because I didn't have any and I added 1/4 cup of sour cream like another reviewer suggested and it was super moist and addicting!! I will only be making this on special occasions because it was way too good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2008
"*****!" (Now don't yall get it twisted. I'm not swearing. You know there's no key on the board that makes stars so I'm improvising...lol)It's simply the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2008
Oh my GOD! Pam you are a genius. This cake has been made in my home on average of 2 times a month and has drawn unbelievable raves from everyone. I hold you singularly responsible for making ALL of us lemon cake addicts! Follow the recipe as written and it will come out AMAZING! I reserve 1/8 cup for when you flip it over and brush over top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Warwick, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2008
This was great! My parents absolutely loved it and they aren't big "sweets" fans. I didn't have lemon juice, so I made the glaze with powdered sugar and some of the left over apricot nectar! Worked great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2008
I've made this several time and never a bad review. It is easy and very lemony. I have used both lemon jello and lemon pudding with excellent results. I've also used an orange cake mix and lemon pudding and it was just as good. It's the glaze that makes it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paris, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GotRice?
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
Good recipe. I was looking for that dense pound cake texture too, but mine was a little bit softer than I expected. I forgot to get lemon extract, so i used lemon juice into the batter as one reviewer mentioned, and i think i overdid the juice a bit, because it turned out extra-lemony. VERY good with a glass of milk, or a scoop of vanilla ice cream. I'll probably still sub lemon juice in the batter next time, (what's a lemon pound cake without real lemon?) but I'll use less juice, and it should be perfect. Definitely sprinkle it with additional confectioner's sugar after the glaze and cake have fully dried, for a nice immediate effect, but it will dissolve into the glaze after a day. It's tastes better the next day too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GotRice?

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fullerton, California, USA
Living In: Chino Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
Very good cake. Not quite the dense pound cake texture but it is dense enough. If you only have yellow cake mix you can add a teaspoon or so of powdered lemon koolaide but use sparingly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lenihan5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
This cake was an absolute hit with my dessert exchange group! The only changes I made to the recipe was I used a 3.4oz box of lemon pudding mix instead of gelatin, and I baked it for 45 minutes (although I could have gotten away with a slightly shorter time, as the cake was a little overcooked around the edges). The cake's texture was just right for a pound cake, and it was fluffy and moist. The cake's flavor was a wonderful, rich lemon. The glaze was extremely tart and lemony - almost too tart for me. I would have been equally happy with a non-lemon powdered sugar glaze. Glaze aside, I would definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Pound Cake III

A classic recipe for a cream cheese pound cake.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States