Glazed Lemon Supreme Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2009
This is a show stopper! You cant get any better than this.Easy to make. I was the hit of the party. My Boyfriend just loves this cake. My Friends rave also. Thanks for a wonderful recipe. LP
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2009
Simply GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charlie R.

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Romulus, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2009
This pound cake is amazing! Very lemony and very moist with this change: substitute pudding mix for gelatin mix. Perfect recipe for any occasion!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2009
I thought this was exceptional! I made it for my friends tea party birthday cake and all of the girls loved it! It came out super moist. I had not idea where to get apricot nectar. So I actually replaced it with Apricot preserves and I also did not have the lemon extract. But it turned out amazing! And was much easier to make than I anticipated! I highly recommend this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BelovedApple

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by hardrockgirl
Reviewed: May 11, 2009
Absolutely sinful! If you like lemon flavor, this is the one for you! Definitely poke holes in the cake with a chopstick before pouring the glaze over it while still in the pan. I used lemon pudding mix instead of gelatin, and double the lemon extract. Also made a simple glaze of lemon zest, milk and confectioners sugar to pour over the top once cooled. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hardrockgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yorba Linda, California, USA
Living In: Mechanicsville, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2009
Extraordinary!!! Delicious and loved by all who ate it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tokazodo
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
My son asked for a Lemon Pound cake for his birthday cake this year. (He will be turning 22 years old!) I found this recipe and thought I'd give it a try. I followed the recipe but added 1/4 cup sour cream and lemon pudding instead of lemon gelatin. Because I had to serve it to 12 people in a resturaunt, I decided to make cupcakes with this recipe. They turned out very moist. I poked holes in the cupcakes and poured 1 tsp of the glaze over it. I then mixed 1/4 cup water and 1/2 cup granulated sugar in a sauce pan. I mixed in 1 tsp vanilla and 1/2 tsp lemon extract. After the sugar was dissolved, I mixed it into 2 cups of confectionery sugar, and stirred in some yellow food coloring. I piped on some rose buds with some icing I already had. My husband loved this cupcakes. I will be taking the cupcakes 4 1/2 hours to see my son for his birthday /Easter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tokazodo

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hatteras, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2009
5 stars for this lemon cake it is truly the best, I have now made this several time. I have made a couple of changes to the glaze. I add 2 table spoons of the nectar and the zest of 1 lemon to the glaze. I also bake it in 2 loaf pans, it freezes well. I also live overseas and can not always get Apricot nectar, so I have used Mango and peach nectar and the cake is still great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
this was easy and so delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
I love lemon so I could have eaten this by myself, but I made it for a baby shower where there were 4 other cakes to choose from and it was gobbled. My husband ate the remaining leftover piece the next day. I made it the day before and then put it in the fridge overnight and I think it intensifies the lemon. I don't like buying obscure ingredients so I used orange juice in place of the apricot nectar. Great texture. I also did as suggested by another reviewer and poked holes (with a skewer) around in the bottom of the cake while it was still in the bunt pan just out of the oven to pour the glaze in and then let it cool about 20 mins before removing it from the pan. Another tip for baking with bunt pans I read: instead of flouring your greased pan and having the white dust show when you take your cake out, make a paste with 1 Tbl melted butter and 1 Tbl flour and then brush it on your pan with a basting brush. Your cake will come right out and look pretty too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IDpotato

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States