Glazed Ham Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
Love this sauce! My only recommendation would be to cook your ham according to the type and weight. I usually buy a picnic shoulder which needs to be cooked on the stove top and for 2 to 2 1/2 hours. Other than that the sauce is perfect just the way it is. Thanks for sharing this delicious recipe, Connie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dixie'sMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Photo by OkinawanPrincess
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
This is a very tasty glaze! I used a precook turkey ham which I sliced and placed into a small casserole to reheat. I added a little water in the bottom of the casserole. Once heated, I poured the glaze over the ham and covered with an aluminum foil and heated in the oven at 350 degrees for 30 minutes. The glaze is sweet with a hint of smoky flavor. There was nothing overpowering at all in the glaze. In fact, I liked it so much that I poured a little glaze over my rice too. I served this with, "Creamy Sweet Corn, "Double Cheesy Au Gratin Potatoes," also from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: May 16, 2011
One of the best ham recipes I have ever done. Flavor was superb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Husband

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2011
Served this for Easter dinner, rave reviews. I didn't have to talk anyone into taking left overs home. I followed the recipe exactly (a shocker to the family). I thought that the flavor was great. However I thought that the meat was on the dry side. Having said that I should also mention that I have a new stove due to wifes insistence to go with a new kitchen. I sure miss the old one. Anyhow will make again, and probably use a baking bag, and keep a closer eye on it. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Goshen, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2011
This suace is fantastic! Double and add a bit more brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
Really disappointing, after hours of cooking it was dry and no real flavor. yuck
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
Fantastic Ham!!!! I did a 12 lb ham. I thawed it the night before and I cooked it at 350 for 3.5 hrs the morning of. I forgot to cover it and realized it in the middle of church. I got home to check on it, thought I had ruined it cause it was a little black. I took it out, turned it over and put my glaze mixture on the bottom. I did not remove any of the drippings. I put it back in uncovered and the ham turned out perfect in the end! It was a hit and was nearly gone with 11 people eating on that 12 lb ham!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Ordway, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
I didn't care for this recipe. Sounds like 90% of the 5 star reviewers didn't really use a RAW ham (which is actually a fresh leg of pork, sometimes called "fresh ham" - very lean meat and shouldn't be cooked for 6-8 hrs), but they used cured, cooked hams. I have a Wolf oven and used a heavy copper-clad roasting pan, so my equipment was not at fault. I followed the recipe EXACTLY. When I took the meat out after 7 hrs and deboned it, I noticed the top half was dry and tough, while the bottom that sat in the water seemed very tender. I put all the chunks of meat back in the pan, poured on the sauce, which was watery (1-1/2 cups of overly sweet liquid), covered it as called for, and after 30 minutes ALL of the meat had become tough, floating in a sugar liquid. Why is this called "Glazed Ham"? You can't get a glaze when something is braised/steamed after being covered for 7-1/2 hours. The cooked meat of a "fresh ham" is not pink, it is gray, so I don't think the creator of this recipe had a raw ham in mind, as the picture accompanying the recipe shows pink (cured) ham. I'm blaming myself for not thinking harder about how all that thin liquid could possibly become a glaze after 30 mins under cover. Think I'll stick to recipes I watch being made on the various food networks, or Food & Wine magazine. $25 piece of meat wasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
I usually just use pineapple juice and brown sugar for a glaze but did not have pineapples so I tried this recipe. From now on, I will only use this glaze for any hams I make Thank you Connie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bristol, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
So Delicious. My husband doesn't like ham but likes this recipe. I don't add the cloves but only because I don't like cloves. We use the left over ham in a ham and bean soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 208) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tangy Honey Glazed Ham

Pineapple juice, honey, and Dijon create a tangy glaze for baked ham.

Glazed Ham

Raw ham is slow roasted and seasoned with a sweet smoky sauce.

Apricot Brown Sugar Ham

An apricot jam, dry mustard, and brown sugar glaze makes baked ham special.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States