Glazed Ham Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
I made this ham for a very skeptical family, cooking my first real Christmas dinner. It was fantastic! Even mom admitted it was the most tender, moist ham she'd ever had! Thanks so much for a great recipe, and for saving my hide on Xmas! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
I had a small Trader Joe's ham that I needed a marinade for. This was very tasty and I will definitely use it again at Easter. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jharmon40

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
I only gave 4 stars because I'm not a fan of liquid smoke and therefore used my own glaze. That being said, the slow roasting in water gave me one of the best hams I've made in years! It really reduces the saltiness of the ham and the meat was very tender. So whether or not you prefer to use your own glaze, the roasting method is wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
I made this recipe last Easter and used a raw ham; everyone said it was the best ham I ever made; not salty at all and very good flavor. It does take a long time to cook, but it's worth it. You can get a raw ham from BJ's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
Made exactly as directed. Most excellent. Will be cooking for Easter this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KMYOHO

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
STUPENDOUS!! Glazing every 5-10 min is ESSENTIAL, EVERYONE LOVED IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vennettes_mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
OMG. THIS WAS THE BEST. I got my ham for 98cent a point. It was a semi boneless ham. After reading the reviews, I decided to mesh directions. I put 4 cups of water in an oven bag and with the ham and cooked it at the temp and time on the label on the ham (actually a little under time--I cooked it for 12 lbs and the ham was almost 13). Then I drained the bag, set the ham aside and poured the drippings in a bowl. I took the ham off the bone, put it back in the pan and made double the glaze after seeing how much meat there was. There wasn't a lot of fat, so I didn't skim. I poured the mix and reduced heat to 275 and baked for 30 min. It wasn't a glaze as much as a au jus, but it was so so moist and yummy. I put leftover meat and glaze in a freezer bag for a crockpot dump meal. The kids can't wait to have it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nat_Indy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
8 hours for an 8lb ham? I had a 10lb ham that was at 200 degrees after 5.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Berkeley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
Juicy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
This recipe made a wonderful glaze! I didn't have liquid smoke, so my ham was wonderfully sweet and caramelized, but I would have loved to taste it with the added smokiness. I used the original glaze recipe, but changed the approach. About 20-30 minutes before serving, I began to spoon the glaze over the ham in 5 minute increments, and did not cover it again. This created a nice caramelized color (its not burnt!- its CARAMELIZED!!) that I love to see in a ham, along with making a nice crunch on the outer layer of ham. It also kept the Ham extremely moist while it rested on the counter before cutting. I have added a hard copy of this recipe to my recipe box, where it will be used on many hams to come! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 207) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Glazed Ham

Raw ham is slow roasted and seasoned with a sweet smoky sauce.

Apricot Brown Sugar Ham

An apricot jam, dry mustard, and brown sugar glaze makes baked ham special.

Baked Ham

See how to make an easy, old-fashioned baked ham with cloves and brown sugar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States