Glazed Ham Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2008
This was my first time cooking a ham so I had no clue what I was doing. For those of you in the same situation my advice would be not to cook a pre-cooked, spiral cut ham for 8 hours. Most of my ham was so dried up it was like pork jerky. The only thing that saved some of the pieces was that I left some submerged in the juices left in the pan. Those pieces were unbelievably delicious. I will definitely make this ham again but not cook it as long. Lesson learned :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MILKLISSA79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
Made this for my Easter ham this year and I know I'll be keeping the recipe to use every year. Delicious! We couldn't stop eating it. The only down side was burning my fingers while trying to debone the ham. I ended up using two forks and that worked great, but I still burned myself trying to pick the fat out. All in all, a few burned fingertips were worth it. I can't wait to have the leftovers tonight. Like other reviewers, I used a fully cooked ham, and it was still delicious. I was worried that it would dry out, but it was very moist. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRISTYDAWNE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lafayette, Georgia, USA
Living In: Mount Airy, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
I made this for Easter dinner and it was fantastic. I would say the best ham I ever made. I followed the directions and the ham was juicy and very tasty. Thank you for a new family tradition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
I used this recipe for our Easter ham yesterday and it was delicious! I cooked a 9.5 lb ham in the slowcooker. I think the slowcooker is a better idea because it seems to keep more of the moisture in and you can keep an eye on it more easily. I cooked it on high for 3 hours and then 4 hours on low. It was "melt in your mouth" delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ATHENEDRAGONFLY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peterborough, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Pembroke, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
This was AWESOME! I will always prepare my ham this way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
I used a fully cooked half ham for this recipe and thought it was pretty good. I warmed it in the oven covered with foil and 1" water in pan. Then with the water "drippings" I made the sauce. I sliced the ham, poured the sauce over and cooked for another 45 minutes. Not as good as others have said with the longer roasting time on a bone-in ham that makes it so tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
Great! I fixed it for Easter, it was delicious! Everyone loved it and couldn't quit eating it. I did mine in the crop pot over night and in the morning drained off water, kept the one cup as instructed and mixed with other ingredients and poured back over ham and kept on low for another 2 hours. Will fix again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
The glaze flavor was good. I used a pre-cooked ham in a slow cooker as some others had tried and mine turned out really dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Oak Hill, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
An excellent, easy recipe. This was my first time cooking a ham, and it was so simple! I did not use the liquid smoke but it turned out great and the ham just fell off the bone. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
We really liked this recipe. Our ham was falling off the bone done after about 5 hours so we took it out of the oven and just let it sit in the roaster for the last hour. The only other changes that we made weret0 cut back on the liquid smoke to less than a table spoon and using a Splenda blend brown sugar. Very good recipe. Moist, tasty, and tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 211) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Glazed Ham

Raw ham is slow roasted and seasoned with a sweet smoky sauce.

Tangy Honey Glazed Ham

Pineapple juice, honey, and Dijon create a tangy glaze for baked ham.

Apricot Brown Sugar Ham

An apricot jam, dry mustard, and brown sugar glaze makes baked ham special.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States