Glazed English Toffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2003
NOBODY in my family believed that I made this cake - they were convinced I bought it at a store or bakery! It took me half the afternoon to make it but well worth it! I'm not even a huge chocolate fan but I found myself wanting a second slice! If you want to make a good impression - invest some time and try this recipe! My guests and family alike all fell in love! Thanks a bunch Hershey's!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2002
this is not a quick cake, so don't make it if you want something fast. however, if you have the time, it's well worth it, you will NOT be disappointed, and it's easy to prepare. they didn't have skor bits at my grocery store, so i crushed up some Werther's Original's candies. another change i made was doubling the glaze recipe. it's extremely rich, even a chocoholic had to eat it one piece at a time. the cocoa gives it a very moist flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2001
I made this for my dad for fathers day and the whole family loved it. The cake is very moist, I'll use the cake part as my basic chocolate cake recipe from now on. The directions mention adding egg yolks which aren't in the ingredient list (only whites) but I just added the two from the whites so I guess that was right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Germantown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2001
This cake is simply delectable! I made it for my mom for mother's day and she couldn't get enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA
Living In: Heidelberg, Baden-Württemberg, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2005
I bake all the time and this is the best chocolate cake. I added a little pinch of instant coffee to the chocolate glaze and it was delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2004
This cake was awesome!!! I recommend letting it chill for at least 4 hours to let it get nice and cold. I'll be making this one again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA
Reviewed: May 8, 2005
This is one of the best chocolate cake recipes I have ever tried. The cake has a great texture, and the glaze is just the right touch. I have served it at 2 parties and everyone has raved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2003
Easy, but somewhat time consuming. It is worth it though! I made it for valentine's day earlier this year, to the total amazement of boyfriend! It was a hit! My roomates came drifting into the kitchen, asking "what's that smell?" Your family will too, trust me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2003
This cake was amazing!!! i made this for an English class project on society in England. We were doing different foods and i picked this one to make. Everyone loved it! People asked for seconds and the whole cake was gone by the end. I oculdnt find skors toffee bits so i bought (i think heath) traditional English toffee bites and decorated the top of the cake with them. It looked great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
This cake is absolutely incredible. It will now be my go-to recipe for chocolate cake; I can't wait to experiment with other fillings and frostings (although the "glaze" itself was out of this world--double it)! The cake is moist, rich, and chocolatey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENELLEBELLE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Macomb, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States