Glazed English Toffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2004
My cake didn't look quite as good as the picture but it sure tasted great! It was a bit time consuming but I've been in a baking mood so I didn't mind at all. I used two regular sized Skor bars (found at local White Hen Pantry) and instead of whipped topping (don't like it) used fluffy white filling from the site instead. Excellent. The oil really makes the cake moist and the glaze makes it very rich. I also dusted my cake pans with more cocoa instead of flour. I would do this again. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2004
made this yesterday it was EXCELLENT! only change I would make is to make 2 cakes if it is the only dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2004
This was one of three cakes I offered at a dinner party. It recieved many ohs & ahs at 1st sight. Was VERY simple to make & tasted great. I didn't have any whipping cream, so I used "satiny chocolate glaze" recipe from this site. Keep refrigerated to avoid mushy coolwhip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Knewasser

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Binghamton, New York, USA
Living In: Riverview, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2004
You've got to try this one; it'll really impress everyone. Relatively easy to make, and it's so yummy! The dutch process cocoa makes the cake gives the cake a really wonderful chocolate flavor--be sure not to use anything else. Next time I make this, I think I'll try making my own whipped cream instead of cool whip, not that it detracted from the flavor at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2004
This is an absolutely sinful chocolate cake...my second attempt (the first ended with egg white spattered all over the kitchen, me, and the dog...my fault) produced a delicious dessert. The glaze is wonderfully fudgy and a perfect compliment...just make sure you grease the pans really well..mine stuck to the bottom but luckily it was just for the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2004
This cake was awesome!!! I recommend letting it chill for at least 4 hours to let it get nice and cold. I'll be making this one again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2004
This is the best cake that I have ever made! My whole family loved it! I didn't have any light cream so I just added the whipped cream to the glaze sauce instead. Also, I noticed that when I was ready to glaze the cake, the glaze became very thick when it cooled to room temp. I just heated it on LOW and added more whipped cream and stirred until it was the right consistency again. I will be using this cake again for birthdays and special occaisions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hatboro, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2003
This is a picture perfect cake. I fixed this, and it was so rich and yummy. Definatley a keeper for the chocolate and toffee or caramel lovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2003
NOBODY in my family believed that I made this cake - they were convinced I bought it at a store or bakery! It took me half the afternoon to make it but well worth it! I'm not even a huge chocolate fan but I found myself wanting a second slice! If you want to make a good impression - invest some time and try this recipe! My guests and family alike all fell in love! Thanks a bunch Hershey's!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2003
Easy, but somewhat time consuming. It is worth it though! I made it for valentine's day earlier this year, to the total amazement of boyfriend! It was a hit! My roomates came drifting into the kitchen, asking "what's that smell?" Your family will too, trust me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States