Glazed English Toffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
This cake is absolutely incredible. It will now be my go-to recipe for chocolate cake; I can't wait to experiment with other fillings and frostings (although the "glaze" itself was out of this world--double it)! The cake is moist, rich, and chocolatey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENELLEBELLE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Macomb, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2008
everyone loves this whenever i make it. the glaze and toffee is what really makes this cake stand out. if you're really looking for a shortcut, use a pre-mix for the cake, the chocolate glaze and whip cream is just that good. you'll barely be able to tell the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2007
I have made this cake more than 30 times over the years and have not met a person yet that did not love it! Instead of frozen topping I use real whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2006
Fabulous!! It took first place in my school's bake-off. Make sure that you use the Dutch processed cocoa. I have made it with both regular and Dutch, and the Dutch rules! It really makes a difference. I also doubled the amount of glaze and drizzled some between the layers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2005
Great recipe! Very pretty cake too. I made this for company and they freaked out over it. I've had to make it for them twice again since then.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2005
I bake all the time and this is the best chocolate cake. I added a little pinch of instant coffee to the chocolate glaze and it was delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2005
I'm a big fan of baking cakes from scratch so the steps involved in this didn't phase me a bit. It was beautiful to look at but my family just wasn't crazy about the taste of it. They didn't care for the whipped cream between layers. It just wasn't a big hit at my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: May 18, 2005
An impressive cake that looks deceptively hard to make. Not true!! Everyone will love this moist, rich, and crunchy (because of the toffee bits) chocolate cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2005
SPECTACULAR! Jaws dropped when I brought this to the table - definitely a good "TA-DAAAA" recipe. Not a crumb lived to see sun-up - the small wedge that wasn't eaten at the table was snarfed down by a houseguest sometime during the night. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2005
This cake tasted good, but I won't be making it again because I've made other chocolate cakes that are less work and taste better. The cake part was rather dry. I do like the idea of using toffee chips and whipped cream between the layers of an even better cake, though, so I'm glad I tried it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States