Glazed Cornish Game Hens With Apricot Pistachio Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2005
With the exception of putting it on the upper level of the oven. I found that @ 450 degrees this browned it way to fast. I would cook it at 350 and then a little higher at the end to darken the color of the skin. Other than that it was a hit at my home. I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2006
I wish I would have read the comments regarding the recipe. It did brown too quickly. I ended up tenting with aluminum foil to avoid over browning. I didn't use the pistachio garnish on the side. Not much juice left and decided it wasn't necessary. The Hens were delicious and tender, tasty all the way through. I will use this recipe again cook at a lower temp. and leave out the parsley and pistachio’s.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
This recipe is great. I made a one as a test before Thanksgiving, and then made some modifications and made a full batch for Thanksgiving. Salt water bath made all of the difference. Had to turn down heat and cook longer like most others. Also, take the vinegar and jam mixture and multiply it by 4 if you want enough to bast with, otherwise you pan will run dry and burn up. I did not use the nuts like most others as well. The hens came out with a great flavor, tender, the meat was almost falling off the bone before I could transfer them to the serving tray.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gail A. Guild
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
These hens are a wonderful holiday or company entree making a lovely presentation. I'm glad I read the other reviews; even at 350-degrees the hens started to get dark brown before they were cooked through, so tenting with foil may be needed. Keep a watch on them. Also, there is not an abundance of fruit or pan juices, so if you like lots, you might want to increase the amount of fruit and deglaze the pan with chicken broth or white wine at the end. Definitely worth making!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gail A. Guild

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flemington, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
This turned out extremely well although the "Stuffing" was a bit on the oniony side. I used 4x the amount of apricot jam and only 2x the amount of vinegar and it turned out great. The birds were slightly sweet and outstanding. Cooking temp should be 350 for 45 minutes and 390 for 5-10.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
The Cornish hens made a wonderful Christmas Day dinner. We adjusted the time and temperature according to a previous reviewer. And, as suggested by others, we ultimately covered the hens with foil to keep them from browning too quickly. With regard to the dressing, it burned a little, but we were able to salvage enough in the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2008
This was excellent. My husband loved it! I baked at 375 degrees instead of 450 and the hens were very well done on the outside. Next time I will try baking at 350 degrees for 50 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
This was a crowd pleaser. I took the advise of previous cooks and cooked them at 350 for 1 hour on the lower oven rack. Did not add the pistashios or parsley. But they turned out great. Very moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
I used this recipe for a post-Christmas dinner for my in-laws. I wanted something different from the tried and true turkey and dressing or ham. My family LOVED it. You will definitely need more of the glaze; it's so good. I'm thinking of using the glaze as a substitute for barbeque sauce this summer when we grill chicken or pork. My mother-in-law complimented me on this dish by saying it looked like something you'd get at a fancy restaurant. I beamed! Very tasty, easy to prepare and makes a GREAT presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Davidica

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Hot Springs, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
Yum in the Tum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Schenectady, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry Cornish Hens

Impress guests with these elegant hens—the perfect size to serve individually.

Cornish Game Hens with Garlic and Rosemary

See how to make impressive roasted game hens with a savory white wine sauce.

Grilled Game Hens with Blood Orange & Rosemary

See how to grill game hens marinated in blood orange juice and rosemary.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States