Glazed Cornish Game Hens With Apricot Pistachio Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 19, 2009
Loved this recipe. I was not able to use the pistachio as there was a recall on them at the time. I cooked them on the lower rack at 350 degree for 1hr after an hour I basted a few times and cooked another hour. When it browned to the way I liked it I just made a tent with foil and put it over the hens until done cooking. My husband loved it! I did to beautiful and very tasty. Perfect main dish to impress guest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweet2th

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Manteca, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
I didn't have time to brine the hens for the whole two hours. I had to cook these longer than an hour since they were still slightly frozen. But, the dish was good overall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Novato, California, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
This was a crowd pleaser. I took the advise of previous cooks and cooked them at 350 for 1 hour on the lower oven rack. Did not add the pistashios or parsley. But they turned out great. Very moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2008
Wouldn't change a thing. Hens turn out very tender and look fancy. Will make for special occassions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mefunie2

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2008
This was excellent. My husband loved it! I baked at 375 degrees instead of 450 and the hens were very well done on the outside. Next time I will try baking at 350 degrees for 50 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
The Cornish hens made a wonderful Christmas Day dinner. We adjusted the time and temperature according to a previous reviewer. And, as suggested by others, we ultimately covered the hens with foil to keep them from browning too quickly. With regard to the dressing, it burned a little, but we were able to salvage enough in the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
This turned out extremely well although the "Stuffing" was a bit on the oniony side. I used 4x the amount of apricot jam and only 2x the amount of vinegar and it turned out great. The birds were slightly sweet and outstanding. Cooking temp should be 350 for 45 minutes and 390 for 5-10.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gail A. Guild
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
These hens are a wonderful holiday or company entree making a lovely presentation. I'm glad I read the other reviews; even at 350-degrees the hens started to get dark brown before they were cooked through, so tenting with foil may be needed. Keep a watch on them. Also, there is not an abundance of fruit or pan juices, so if you like lots, you might want to increase the amount of fruit and deglaze the pan with chicken broth or white wine at the end. Definitely worth making!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gail A. Guild

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flemington, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
This recipe is great. I made a one as a test before Thanksgiving, and then made some modifications and made a full batch for Thanksgiving. Salt water bath made all of the difference. Had to turn down heat and cook longer like most others. Also, take the vinegar and jam mixture and multiply it by 4 if you want enough to bast with, otherwise you pan will run dry and burn up. I did not use the nuts like most others as well. The hens came out with a great flavor, tender, the meat was almost falling off the bone before I could transfer them to the serving tray.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2007
I was impressed with how the Cornish hen came out (tasty, moist, very yummy) However, although we love all of the ingredients in the apricot pistachio dressing, it was just 'okay'. Noting other reviews, I turned down the oven temp to 375 and had no problems. Would make the Cornish hen recipe again without the dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FMDEMAY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cornish Game Hens with Garlic and Rosemary

See how to make impressive roasted game hens with a savory white wine sauce.

Cranberry Cornish Hens

Impress guests with these elegant hens—the perfect size to serve individually.

Cranberry Stuffed Game Hens

See how to make game hens stuffed with a simple cranberry and bread stuffing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States