Glazed Cornish Game Hens With Apricot Pistachio Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
This recipe was amazing! I only made 2 hens and didn't split them. I used as suggested a pre-heated oven at 350 for one hour and basted every 15 minutes. I then broiled them at the end for about 5 minutes. I garnished with the parsley but left out the nuts. I also paired this with an apple stuffing which was great. Also, I swapped out the white onion for green onion as my husband is not a fan of onion. My husband is never afraid to tell me he doesn't like something and he loved this. I doubled the glaze because he likes a lot of sauce. I've never made a turkey or roasted chicken so I thought this would be good practice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
This came as a wonderful Christmas dinner surprise. I took the advise of others and lowered the temp. and, added the nuts to the onion and apricot dressing. Raves all around especially with the spinach/artichoke brie bread pudding,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
These were spectacular! Reading the reviews, I did make changes- I only baked 2 hens, I did not halve the glaze- the original recipe yielded just enough for the 2. Baked them at 375, 400 for last 10 minutes, with a foil tent. Did not broil them, as they were already a perfect golden brown. Left the pistachio part out. I also threw some chunked yellow potatoes with evoo and salt into the pan, surrounding birds, and they came out perfect! They soaked up some of the yummy glaze flavor. My husband tore it all up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
This was the best dish ever! Everyone I served loved it!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
This was delicious! I made it in place of a traditional turkey for Thanksgiving and we really enjoyed it. I didn't use the pistachios and parsley and like others, I lowered the cooking temperature to about 375 then turned it up to 400 for the last 5 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foodie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
Yum in the Tum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Schenectady, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
I used this recipe for a post-Christmas dinner for my in-laws. I wanted something different from the tried and true turkey and dressing or ham. My family LOVED it. You will definitely need more of the glaze; it's so good. I'm thinking of using the glaze as a substitute for barbeque sauce this summer when we grill chicken or pork. My mother-in-law complimented me on this dish by saying it looked like something you'd get at a fancy restaurant. I beamed! Very tasty, easy to prepare and makes a GREAT presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Davidica

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Hot Springs, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by rebeqah
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
The Cornish Game Hens had a nice sweet crispy apricot glazed skin and the breast meat was tender and juicy with a nice hint of citrus zest. I would recommend lowering the temperature and covering with foil to begin and finishing up with roasting it on the 450 temperature. I added the pistachio nuts to cook with the dressing instead of adding it at the end and it softened up the nuts nicely for those who do not like the crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rebeqah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2009
Loved this recipe. I was not able to use the pistachio as there was a recall on them at the time. I cooked them on the lower rack at 350 degree for 1hr after an hour I basted a few times and cooked another hour. When it browned to the way I liked it I just made a tent with foil and put it over the hens until done cooking. My husband loved it! I did to beautiful and very tasty. Perfect main dish to impress guest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweet2th

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Manteca, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
I didn't have time to brine the hens for the whole two hours. I had to cook these longer than an hour since they were still slightly frozen. But, the dish was good overall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Novato, California, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry Cornish Hens

Impress guests with these elegant hens—the perfect size to serve individually.

Cornish Game Hens with Garlic and Rosemary

See how to make impressive roasted game hens with a savory white wine sauce.

Grilled Game Hens with Blood Orange & Rosemary

See how to grill game hens marinated in blood orange juice and rosemary.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States