Glazed Corned Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
We have used this recipe several times over the last couple of years, with the only change being the frequent use of orange marmalade rather than apricot because that's what we had on hand. Today, my DH is cooking, & says the cook times don't add up. Anyone else notice this? I have always done the water bake for 2 hours, & the glaze for 30 mins cover the uncovered. Am I wrong? Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
I started using this recipe a few years ago and it is the only way I make corned beef. I cut the glaze recipe in half. I also combine the glaze ingredients and microwave 1 minute to blend ahead of time. I then let it sit while the beef cooks. This makes basting very easy. Once basted, I cook 15 minutes with foil on and 15 minutes with foil off to avoid drying out. Delish!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
I'm a Japanese who is living with an Irish American boyfriend. He has eaten Irish food since he can remember and he told me that this recipe is the best he ever had. It was easy to make, meat was so tender, and we loved it so much. I want to make this again just because. Thank you for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
This was good but I have a different glaze recipe that I have used for years and made a batch of corned beef with this glaze and one with the one I usually make. All 5 of us that ate it liked my usual recipe better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
This has become a saint Patricks day tradition for our family. I make it every year and the only change I make is replacing water for Guinness. Excellent!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
I have made this recipe multiple times and it has ALWAYS been well received. I've even had people who claim to hate corned beef, love it. The only thing I did differently was that I always boil my corned beef for 10-15 minutes prior to putting it in the oven. Otherwise I stick to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
I soak my beef over night in a non-reactive pot, it helps to remove more of the excess salt. I then put the beef in a enameled cast iron Dutch oven, add the water, I never bother with the packet that comes with the beef because the beef is already corned (it's actually more for your vegetables), cover and put into a preheated 350 oven, IMMEDIATELY reduce the heat to 250. Bake for 3 hours. The last half hour I drain off the liquid into a double boiler which I will use for steaming my veggies. But before dealing with the veggies, I spread the glaze evenly over the beef and return it back to the oven and increase the oven temp to 350 (uncovered) for about a half hour (watch carefully). Remove from oven and let the beef sit covered on a pre-warmed serving platter on the stove for a half hour. While the beef is "resting" I steam my potatoes and carrots (together) until they are about half done. Add the half done veggies to the pot with the drippings, stir to coat and return the pan to the oven uncovered for about fifteen minutes, check for doneness. Add the potatoes and carrots to the serving platter around the beef and serve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elizabeth32

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Yarmouth, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2013
really good , it can be a little too sweet if u don't served with the right sides
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Yessenia Kissel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: River Ridge, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
What an amazing corned beef. Made exactly how recipe stated. A true crowd pleaser!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2013
This was my first time making corned beef. It was simple to make and tasted delicious! I will definitely add this recipe to my regular dinner rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 218) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make perfect corned beef.

Corned Beef and Cabbage I

See how to make a traditional recipe for corned beef and cabbage.

Easy Corned Beef and Cabbage

Simple, no-fuss corned beef and cabbage simmers slowly all day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States