Glazed Corned Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2007
I only cooked this for 2 hours. Any longer and we wouldn't have been able to eat it. However, I will never make corned beef without the glaze again. Amazing flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EAM1135

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2007
this was a very delicious glaze. The best part was how EASY it is to make. I did boil my corned beef first for 3 1/2 hours. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOVEBUGSMAMMA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Absecon, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2007
First I have to say that this glaze was wonderful, and will be the ONLY thing I take from this recipe. We did not care for the way that the corned beef turned out, I followed the recipe completely. We are lucky that this St. Patty's day we bought two briskets the other is working its magic in the crock pot so thankfully there is a silver lining. I cannot recommend this recipe for baking a brisket, however I can recomend the glaze that seems me and my family just wonderful. sorry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2007
This was fabulously delicious. I put the corned beefs (I cooked 3 of them!) in roasting pans and filled the pans to within an inch of the top with water and added the spice packs that came with the corned beefs. Then I covered them with foil and put them in the oven at only 250 degrees for 5 hours. Uncovered them, drained most of the water as well as removed the fat, added the glaze, put my carrots in with the corned beefs, and baked them at 350 for another hour, basting both the carrots and beefs occassionally. YUMMY, and the carrots were delish, too! 3/18/07 update: Cut all leftovers into bite-sized chunks, melted butter in large skillet, put in the leftovers (corned beef, carrots, cabbage, potatoes and turnip). Cooked on medium high, stirring, for a few minutes. Turned stove to low, covered the skillet, and heated for about 20 minutes - this was SUPER "corned beef hash".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2007
I had purchased a brisket for St. Patrick's Day thinking that I would be the only one eating it as no one else in the family is too keen on corned beef. That was until this recipe. My kids got to sample a little before dinner and absolutely loved it! It is so tender and tasty I can see there won't be any leftovers. I made only one small change - I used only a 1/2 cup of black cherry fruit spread instead of the full cup of apricot preserves...only because that was what was on hand. The subtle cherry flavor in the glaze is fabulous. This recipe is in my recipe box to be used over and over in the future. [Edited 3/8/09] If this isn't the best corned beef recipe I don't know what could be. My kids are already asking me to make this for St. Patrick's Day again this year! They normally don't have a long term memory on recipes I make but this one certainly made an impression.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2007
Awesome flavor! This is the first time I've made corn beef. I started out this morning deciding that I'd just boil it. To kill time I searched this site and found this recipe. I decided to make the glaze, except I wanted it thicker, so I only used about 1/4 water. After it had boiled for about two hours, I removed it from the pot, placed it in a shallow roasting pan on a rack, glazed the meat on both sides, added 2 cups of cooking liquid to the bottom of the pan, covered it and baked for about 45 minutes. I didn't need to place under the boiler, because the thicker sauce carmelized on it's own!! My hubby loved it and I can't wait to have it topped with cole slaw in a sandwich!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by darlingnikki
Living In: Pasadena, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2007
This recipe is wonderful. I dont understand why people are boiling it first without just following the recipe. There is no need to boil. It is great with grilled cabbage....cut cabbage into wedges, put on sheet of foil, coat with butter and pour on some vinegar. Double wrap tightly and grill for about half an hour turning a few times. Delish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2007
This was very easy to make and it came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WEBGIRL302

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Lenox, Illinois, USA
Living In: Wauconda, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2007
Wow this glaze was amazing. I had actually baked the corned beef for 5 hours in 2 bottles of Guiness Beer and then filled the pan the rest of the way with water to cover the meat and added the seasoning packet. Then I took the corned beef out of the liquid and just left a small amount in the bottom of the pan and added a layer of glaze every 15 minutes for an hour. I broiled it on high for the last 10 minutes and it ended up coming out so great that even my kids (who would have never eaten corned beef before), loved it. I will never make corned beef any other way from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
124 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2007
Excellent. Made exactly per the instructions and had the best corned beef ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ATLMICHELLE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Southington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 214) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make perfect corned beef.

Corned Beef and Cabbage I

See how to make a traditional recipe for corned beef and cabbage.

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States