Glazed Corned Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
This was just the best corned beef recipe! I always made mine boiled the traditional way but since last year I have only made it this way!!! AWESOME every time!!! I still boil my veggies with the season package the croned beef came with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KARENW67

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manchester, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Southwick, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by The Fragile Gourmet
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2008
You've GOT TO TRY THIS for St. Pat's Day! Great recipe if you boil the corned beef first. I simmered it with the spice packet for 3.5 hours and threw some carrots in the water for the last 20 minutes. Took it out, cut off the fat, and placed it in a 9x13 glass dish along with the carrots. Spread the glaze all over and baked for 30 minutes at 350. I made Diane's Colcannon from this site as a side dish. This is better than any restaurant meal you could possibly have!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
151 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Plainfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
I'm with the other reviewers, I like to boil mine (in the oven) for a few hours on low heat (250F) before roasting. It makes a big difference in the salt content and I can save my broth to par boil my veggies then add to the beef as it roasts at a high heat with the glaze. I cut back on the soy and added a touch of stone ground mustard instead. It was just delicious and I added my parboiled potatoes, carrots and cabbage to the roast for the last 30 minutes or so. Perfection! Thanks for sharing. Just as a sidenote, rinsing the corned beef of the brine coating does not reduce the salt volume that much. A brine is an absorption into the meat, so rinsing the outside only takes off so much of the salt. You really need to rely on a bit of water cooking to draw alot of the salt out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LemonLush

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2008
This recipe is awsome!! My husbands best friend didn't like corned beef until he happened to stop by one eve and tried this. He has continued to request this dish whenever we get together for dinner. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
Followed the recipe exactly and was very happy. Thanks for a great Sunday staple to add to my collection. My husband and daughter loved it as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tiffscookin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2007
Fantastic!! I don't make corned beef that often because my husband doesn't much care for it,but he loved it. He ate a huge portion and then finished mine! Didn't change a thing and have a lot of glaze left over to use on chicken. Thanks for the wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jasgirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Mount Vernon, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
this was an awesome recipe will defintely make again gives the corned beef a really diffrent taste thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2007
Waaaaay too salty. We were disappointed in this and won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2007
covered top of meat with packet of spices that came with meat & Added one onion quatered at begining 6 medium potatoes & chunked rutabaga after first houh and a half. Didn;t drain water just removed lid after 2 1/2 hours ( water cooked down and vegs stayed moist) and glazed off and on for next hour. Will add mustard next to glaze next time and increase to 2 or 3 oninn
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ed.Dolanski

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Haven, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2007
Did not have apricot preserves, so I used orange marmalade instead. Wow! Fantastic flavor. The meat was not tender cooked this way, but it may have been the cut. Don't hesitate on buying the better higher priced corned beef and you won't be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Millboro, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 215) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make perfect corned beef.

Corned Beef and Cabbage I

See how to make a traditional recipe for corned beef and cabbage.

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States