Glazed Corned Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
Too much mustard floor, and the meat was not tender. Boil the meat first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
my guests raved over this. I always choose a corned beef round (don't want all the fat of a brisket) and this recipe is replacing my mother-in-law's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
Would have given 5 stars if not for: Step 2 - "Cover tightly with aluminum foil and bake for 2 hours; drain liquid.". After draining the liquid the bottom of the corned beef and the glaze that ran off burned in the bottom of the pan. Step 4 - "Bake uncovered at 350 degrees F (175 degrees C) 25 to 30 more minutes, or until the meat is tender; basting occasionally with pan drippings". What "pan drippings"? I just removed all the liquid! Next time I will remove "some" liquid with a turkey baster and put it aside to baste then leave enough liquid in the pan to avoid burning. Also the removed liquid will make an great Au Jus prior to adding glaze. Flavor and tenderness were excellent with the exception of the burned bottom which I cut off. BTW - I used 50/50 "Guinness" and water, after all it was St. Patick's Day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
Great recipe - what a delightful surprise! My husband likes appricots but I do not, but thought I would try this for him - we both totally liked it! I cooked the meat and sauce separately, reducing the apricot preserve to by about half, and added a bit of prepared mustard. Will definitely try the sauce again, next time with pork, adding a bit extra mustard to make it more tangy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
I'm not fond of the typical corned beef & cabbage and came across this recipe. I cooked the corned beef for 4 hours on high in the crockpot according to package directions. I then transferred the corned beef to a baking dish and poured some of the juice from the crockpot into the baking dish. To be honest..when I was preparing the glaze I was skeptical. I couldn't find apricot preserves at the store I shopped at and used peach preserves instead. I cooked in the oven at 350 for 20 minutes basting the corned beef half way thru. THIS WAS AMAZING!! Not too sweet and not too salty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
Best corned beef recipe I have had. I followed some of the other reviewers and cooked in in the crock pot on low for 8 hours and then continued with the recipe. Added carrots and they were delicious also with the glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
We have used this recipe several times over the last couple of years, with the only change being the frequent use of orange marmalade rather than apricot because that's what we had on hand. Today, my DH is cooking, & says the cook times don't add up. Anyone else notice this? I have always done the water bake for 2 hours, & the glaze for 30 mins cover the uncovered. Am I wrong? Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
I started using this recipe a few years ago and it is the only way I make corned beef. I cut the glaze recipe in half. I also combine the glaze ingredients and microwave 1 minute to blend ahead of time. I then let it sit while the beef cooks. This makes basting very easy. Once basted, I cook 15 minutes with foil on and 15 minutes with foil off to avoid drying out. Delish!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
I'm a Japanese who is living with an Irish American boyfriend. He has eaten Irish food since he can remember and he told me that this recipe is the best he ever had. It was easy to make, meat was so tender, and we loved it so much. I want to make this again just because. Thank you for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
This was good but I have a different glaze recipe that I have used for years and made a batch of corned beef with this glaze and one with the one I usually make. All 5 of us that ate it liked my usual recipe better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 214) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make perfect corned beef.

Corned Beef and Cabbage I

See how to make a traditional recipe for corned beef and cabbage.

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States