Glazed Corned Beef with Lentils Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2002
This recipe is AMAZING! This was my first attempt with cooking corned beef and I couldn't have asked for a better recipe. It is just the right touch for a great St. Patrick's Day Meal. We had friends over and everyone raved over the meal - this will definitely be made year-round, not just for St. Pat's Day. Timesaver Tip: I ended up slowcooking this in my crockpot during the day instead of on the stove and ended up with very tender meat and plenty of free time to run errands during the day instead of watching the stove. Right before my guests arrived, I baked the glazed brisket and made the lentils on the stove. So tasty and so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2002
I really liked this recipe. My whole family loved it. The only thing I would do different is to spray Pam cooking spray in the bottom of the pan I bake the corned beef in because the sauce burns on to the pan. Also I would not cook it for 40 minutes in the oven at the most 30. But my family loved it and I will hold on to this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2002
The flavor was really good. A nice change from the traditional corned beef and cabbage. I followed another users tip to slice the corned beef before glazing and baking it. I would not do that again because it was a bit dry. Next time I make this I will not put it on a rack and I will cover the baking dish with foil. I would definately recommend trying this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2004
I love Corn Beef. Why do I only fix it once a year? This recipe was good and is suitable for guest and family alike. I believe I overcooked the brisket, as it was dry after roasting, but the glaze was perfect and the lentils were good company. My lentils were a bit salty, and I would probably dilute the broth mixture next time. Also, I added carrots and onions to my lentils for flavor and color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2006
Delish!! We LOVE corned beef at our house, and this recipe just raised the bar!! My family raved for days about this dish, and I have made it for family and company, with the same fantastic reaction! Goood recipe, many thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valerie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Santa Maria, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2003
This is soooo good. I have been making a difference glazed corned beef for years now, and I had bought several corned beefs when they were on sale on St Patricks day. We like our other recipe so much that I never make a different one. I am so glad I decided to finally try something new. Definately make the lentils, they are delicious with the meat. I lined my baking pan with foil, and used the chili sauce in the lentils. I never would have thought the two would pair so well together. Definately a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RACHAEL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2003
This was a good corned beef recipe. I followed exactly as written and next time would only make minor changes: double the glaze as you need more to really coat the meat and halve the lentils as you end up with far more then can be eaten with a 4 # brisket. Otherwise it turned out nicely - not too dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DAVIST

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2001
The meat and glze was great, but the lentils were a bit too salty. I should have tasted the broth before just adding the lentils and diluted accordingly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hollywood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
This tasted really good, but I had issues. I followed the recipe, even though my roast was only 2.12 pounds (which I'm sure was some of the problem). My roast was pre marinaded in the pickling spices, so I omitted them and just dumped the juices from the meat into the pot. I also couldn't resist adding cabbage to the pot, because I love corned beef and cabbage. I figured I'd add it to the lentils later (which I didn't end up doing, I just ate the yummy cabbage!). My lentils are STILL cooking as I type. I used the brown kind since that's what was at my grocery store, but different kinds of lentils cook up differently, so I don't know what would be best. I also had to add ALL the broth to my ONE CUP of lentils-which makes a TON! I included the carrot and some of the onion to my lentils and then mashed it in. The lentils taste great, but they're taking a real long time to cook. I will make this again, but I'll try and tweak the cooking times so I have a moist roast. This was also my first time making corned beef, so I'm giving some credit to the recipe since I'm inexperienced.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yorba Linda, California, USA
Living In: Laguna Hills, California, USA
Photo by Jesusislife
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2007
This was a great recipe! We especially liked the glaze. I used 2 Tbsp. honey mustard and 1 Tbsp. of the other. Cooked the beef in a crock pot for about 4 hrs. It was hard to tell if it was done, but after 30 min. in the oven tasted done. Not extremely tender, but good taste. I would afford more time if planning on using a crock pot. Sliced meat thinly after baking and drizzled glazed in pan over. Added potatoes and cabbage. Cubed and cooked all in the crock pot. Great recipe! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jesusislife

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Corned Beef and Cabbage

Simple, no-fuss corned beef and cabbage simmers slowly all day.

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

How to Make Corned Beef and Cabbage

See how to make the official meal of St. Patrick’s Day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States