Glazed Corned Beef with Lentils Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2004
I made this for dinner tonight and it was a hit! My family loved the glaze and the corned beef turned out really tender. It was still frozen when I started cooking it, so that probably helped with the over-cooking problem that some people had. And I also put water in my pan for the drippings, so no smoke alarm. :) Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2004
I love Corn Beef. Why do I only fix it once a year? This recipe was good and is suitable for guest and family alike. I believe I overcooked the brisket, as it was dry after roasting, but the glaze was perfect and the lentils were good company. My lentils were a bit salty, and I would probably dilute the broth mixture next time. Also, I added carrots and onions to my lentils for flavor and color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2003
I only made the lentils form this recipe becasue my butcher already spices the corned beef so I just boiled it and used the juice for the lentils. They were so good, and my husband and baby loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2003
Yum! I loved this recipe and will definately make it again and again! Next time I will remember to add some water to the baking dish BEFORE my smoke alarm goes off though. Sugar & Honey don't smell very good when they drip of the meat and burn in the pan. lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2003
This is soooo good. I have been making a difference glazed corned beef for years now, and I had bought several corned beefs when they were on sale on St Patricks day. We like our other recipe so much that I never make a different one. I am so glad I decided to finally try something new. Definately make the lentils, they are delicious with the meat. I lined my baking pan with foil, and used the chili sauce in the lentils. I never would have thought the two would pair so well together. Definately a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RACHAEL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2003
This was a good corned beef recipe. I followed exactly as written and next time would only make minor changes: double the glaze as you need more to really coat the meat and halve the lentils as you end up with far more then can be eaten with a 4 # brisket. Otherwise it turned out nicely - not too dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DAVIST

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2002
This recipe is AMAZING! This was my first attempt with cooking corned beef and I couldn't have asked for a better recipe. It is just the right touch for a great St. Patrick's Day Meal. We had friends over and everyone raved over the meal - this will definitely be made year-round, not just for St. Pat's Day. Timesaver Tip: I ended up slowcooking this in my crockpot during the day instead of on the stove and ended up with very tender meat and plenty of free time to run errands during the day instead of watching the stove. Right before my guests arrived, I baked the glazed brisket and made the lentils on the stove. So tasty and so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2002
The flavor was really good. A nice change from the traditional corned beef and cabbage. I followed another users tip to slice the corned beef before glazing and baking it. I would not do that again because it was a bit dry. Next time I make this I will not put it on a rack and I will cover the baking dish with foil. I would definately recommend trying this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2002
I really liked this recipe. My whole family loved it. The only thing I would do different is to spray Pam cooking spray in the bottom of the pan I bake the corned beef in because the sauce burns on to the pan. Also I would not cook it for 40 minutes in the oven at the most 30. But my family loved it and I will hold on to this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2002
This is a delicious recipe - I'll never go back to the "old" way of making corned beef! DH really liked it, too (and was the envy of his workmates at lunchtime!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

Easy Corned Beef and Cabbage

Simple, no-fuss corned beef and cabbage simmers slowly all day.

How to Make Corned Beef and Cabbage

See how to make the official meal of St. Patrick’s Day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States