Glazed Corned Beef with Lentils Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2015
I did not get the chance to try the lentils, but when my husband and I do our monthly corned beef, this recipe is the way that we go. Loved the glaze. No changes to the recipe (for glaze). Now I just have to work up the nerve to try lentils.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2015
Absolutely delicious, corned beef is very tender and lentils go very well with this recipe. I make roasted Brussels sprouts to complete the meal. A few tips; cover the lentils when you are simmering, and they should cook in 30-40 mins. I use hold the amount for the lentils, as you yield a lot, 1 cup is enough. I also cover the corn beef with tinfoil the first 20 mins of baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Broomfield, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2015
This was a 4.5 for me. I made as written but mistakenly put the chili sauce in the glaze instead of the lentils. Best mistake ever! The glaze was really good but a tad too sweet for me. As suggested by another reader, I didn't rack the meat but glazed it and covered with foil and baked at 325 for 40 minutes, glazing again after 20 minutes. The meat was tender and flavorful. I only made 1 cup of lentils and that was plenty. The brisket liqueur with the veggies were great when added to the lentils.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Isthat Onsale
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
My go to St. Patric's Day meal! It's a wonderful blend of flavors! I've made it as directed for the last 5 years! Try it you'll love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
Nice glaze, lentils were OK, but I've had better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luv2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
Gluten free and fabulous! Great alternative for those who can't or won't boil the meat in beer, this makes up for that loss of flavor. There were NO left overs. The fat rendered down and melted in your mouth. Just yummy. Reduced the amount of chile, I used siraca and only 2 tablespoons. Also served with colcanon which was ok, but I prefer the boiled potato and cabbage in the meat pot- true Irish one pot. You should makes this corned beef exactly as directed the recipe is BAZINGA!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
This review is for the corn beef only. It was my first time ever cooking corn beef, and it turned out nicely. Preparation was simple, and it made good leftovers for corn beef hash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
This was pretty good. The glaze for the meat was really good and I would love to try it on ham as well. My meat was dry, mainly because the timing was way off the way this recipe is written. I needed way more time for the lentils to cook so my meat dried out. Cooking the lentils in the meat water was genius but I needed way more than 3 cups of water! I kept adding water to keep those lentils cooking. Also, BEWARE re the chile sauce. I used less than a quarter cup of Hunan Red Chile sauce and OMG the lentils are HOT. I'd suggesting using an 1/8 to start with. The lentil yield is great, and I'm looking forward to mixing the leftovers with fresh hot rice and kielbasa for tomorrow's dinner. Anyway, even with the dried out meat and slightly undercooked lentils I gave this recipe as written 4 stars. Next time I make it, knowing what I do, it'll be a 5 star meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TaraAnne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
I recommend straining the vegetables out of the water and adding them to the lentils, yummm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ReiGuzu

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
This is always my New Year's Day corned beef recipe. I've honestly made it both following with the "extras" in the boiled beef, and just boiling the beef in water, and don't notice much difference ... it's the glazing that makes this perfect! My grown kids love this, and would be happy to come home and eat it weekly! Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Corned Beef and Cabbage

Simple, no-fuss corned beef and cabbage simmers slowly all day.

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

How to Make Corned Beef and Cabbage

See how to make the official meal of St. Patrick’s Day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States