Glazed Cinnamon Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
I have been craving cinnamon rolls but too busy to make them lately so I made these last night and they are indeed a tasty substitute! The only change I made was the use brown sugar instead of white to make them taste more like a real cinnamon roll. I got 8 biscuits out of my batch. Cooked for exactly 18 minutes and they were perfect. I can see myself making these waaay too often! I might do a cream cheese glaze next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
Awesome! I'm dough phobic ever since a bad experience with pie dough and this was sooooo easy to work with! I followed another reviewers advice and added sugar to the dough and I think I'll follow the original recipe next time b/c these were really sweet. I didn't use the glaze recipe but the cinnamon roll frosting recipe from this site. Thanks so much for helping me cure my fear of dough:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jog Dish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
Great as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
We liked these a lot. I thought the dough was just slightly dry, so I would probably add an extra tsp or two of milk next time. I did add about a tablespoon of sugar to the dough, and only used about half of the filling mixture -- 2 tablespoons of sugar and 1/2 tsp cinnamon. I also made a very thin, simple glaze with 1/2 cup powdered sugar, 1/2 tsp vanilla, and about 1-2 tsp cold water. The end result was a slightly sweet biscuit that wasn't too rich or heavy, which is just what I was looking for. It was not overly sweet or dripping with glaze. I baked mine at 450 for 18 minutes and they were perfect. To those who think that 450 is too hot for cinnamon rolls -- remember, this is a biscuit dough, not a yeast dough, so baking time and temperature will be different than your average cinnamon roll recipe. Baking biscuits at too low of a temperature (350) means you have to leave them in the oven longer, resulting in dry, crumbly biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
I made a few modifications, because I like a little more cinnamon ;), but OMG these are seriously so good! I don't always have time to make cinnamon rolls, these are the next best thing (if not better!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
Really good and really easy. A nice alternative to yeast rolls. I took another reviewer's suggestion and added 2 T of sugar to the dough. I also melted the butter and mixed it with the cinnamon and sugar to make a paste instead of sprinkling them on. Didn't lose a single bit of it onto the cutting board. Used a pizza cutter to cut the rolls. I didn't put any butter in the glaze and it tasted fine. I also made these dairy free by substituting soy milk and dairy-free margarine, as my son is allergic. Whole family loved these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
I have made these twice and both times they were great! The second time added a quarter cup of chopped pecans to the filling, which i like because it gave it more texture and dimension.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by albe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
Sooooo good and easy! I did use more cinnamon and sugar mixture than what was called for and more vanilla in glaze but have to say again these rolls were awesome! Thank you for a great find. I also turned oven temp to 350 for fear they were burn in my oven and it turned out they took the same amount of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Berwyn, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lockport, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
Just what I was looking for! Next time I will turn the oven down to 400 degrees and decrease baking time a few minutes. They were a bit dry. Thickening the glaze with cream cheese is a good idea. I added raisins and walnuts to the glaze also. reminder: Roll it up tight and secure the edges after you cut each roll. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shearone
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
Great Cinnamon BISCUIT Recipe! This is not a ROLL so if you are under the impression that it should taste and have the texture of a yeast roll, you will be unhappy! I added about 2 Tablespoons of sugar to the flour mixture. After stirring all the dry ingredients together and adding the milk, the consistency of the dough was that of cottage cheese. I added about 1/4 cup of flour in order to knead the dough. I rolled into a rectangle on a lightly floured pastry cloth, brushed with butter and sprinkled with cinnamon and sugar. Rolled into a log and placed a piece of dental floss under and brought both ends to the top, crossed over and made the cuts. Had a yield of 9 biscuits. I placed about two inches apart on a greased pan. I placed in the refrigerator for about 10 minutes then removed and baked for about 20 minutes at 425 degrees. Removed from oven and drizzled glaze. Delicious! Hardee's (which is a Southern fast food business here in North Carolina) you better watch out as this recipe has gottcha beat! Thanks for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Displaying results 1-10 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States