Glazed Carrots and Parsnips with Chives Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
Looking for a new side dish to serve with a pork roast based on what was in the fridge. Used fresh squeezed lemon and orange juice as I didn't have concentrate available and glad I didn't as I believe it kept the flavors more simplistic. This recipe was a refreshing change from other root vegetables! Sweet, savory, and very pleasing to the eye. Great complement and one that will make it's way to our table from time to time.... Thanks Taddo1965!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
This worked really well. I always modify recipes to match what I have in the house and our preferences, so with this I used only 2 tablespoons butter, an orange instead of orange juice, lots of stock (2 or 3 cups), balsamic vinegar instead of lemon juice and no chives. It was great, sweet and savory. Very sweet considering the sugar is all natural sugars in the veggies, orange and vinegar. They taste almost candied. They also look like they will keep well in the fridge so we can microwave them as a side for later meals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
This turned out excellent! We sauted red onion with ours. Great way to eat parsnips! Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny-n-Raymond

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pelicangal
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
Hubby just loved this recipe. Have to admit though that I did not add the citrus juices. I just cannot handle fruit and savory stuff together. Just a personal preference. Thanks so much for posting the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pelicangal

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brookings, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
great recipe. substituted the juice and pulp of a fresh orange and also added one finely chopped green hot pepper and smoky paprika chipotle seasoning. served with white rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2013
This wasn't terrible, just felt it needed more herbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
reduced quantity to 1 as i'm the only one who likes these root veg. it made a great veggie treat to christmas dinner i just crumbled a little stock cube instead of making a pint up
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by B Bradfield

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
Great recipe. I added a Tablespoon of brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
I love glazed carrots and parsnips. I tried the combo using rainbow carrots recently, just gorgeous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bourbon Glazed Carrots

See how to make the perfect special occasion side dish.

Ginger Carrots and Dates

Brown sugar and chopped dates add a sweet counterpoint to spicy gingered carrots.

Buttery Cooked Carrots

Simmered in brown sugar, these sweet, tender carrots are so quick and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States