Glazed Carrots Asian Style Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 27, 2015
My husband and I liked these. I subbed crossover spice blend (Lynne Rossetto Kasper) for the five spice powder and used powdered ginger. I also used baby carrots and did not parboil them first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2015
I followed the instructions exactly except for grilling and the carrots were too hard based on the instructions. I added water to the marinade in the pan I tried to sauté the carrots on a low heat tobtry and soften the carrots further thus diffusing the marinade slightly. No complaints from family however no compliments either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
This was a nice way to have Asian flared veggies to go with 'Asian Lettuce Wraps' and 'Fried Rice w/Ginger, Hoisin, and Sesame' both AR recipes. I cooked the carrots on the stovetop rather than the grill as it was snowing out when I made them. Stovetop method worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
These were delicious! There wasn't enough liquid in the marinade to even come close to covering the carrots, so I doubled the soy sauce and vinegar. (Most of the liquid gets discarded in the end anyway.) I also cooked them on the oven using the broil setting. I will definitely be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krysten Ambler

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MesaMa
Reviewed: May 4, 2011
I changed absolutely nothing, except I cooked them on my indoor electric grill. A lot of people reviewed that these are salty... be sure to use low-sodium soy sauce. The rice vinegar gave them a nice zip that could easily be mistaken for saltiness too. Really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MesaMa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
They were a bit salty. I also didn't have any sesame oil, so I substituted sesame seeds and a bit of olive oil. I think the sesame oil would have made the flavor a little better, but they were still good. Also, I didn't have a grill available, so I broiled them on a foil lined baking sheet for 10 minutes or so, and they were tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CACHIKA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
There wasn't enough of the marinade, and it was a tad salty to me. I did eat it, but I don't know if I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CC♥'s2bake
Reviewed: May 28, 2010
I was a little worried about this one as other reviewers suggested the sour flavor was unpleasant, but we just loved the kick it gave this, and the flavor was amazing. I should note that I left out the five spice powder (not a fan of it). I chose not to grill, as I just couldn't see that working. I followed the recipe up to that point, keeping the carrots in the saucepan and letting them marinate, then turned them to low heat and simmered for about 20 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
Too sour as written. We did eat it though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2007
not bad
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bourbon Glazed Carrots

See how to make the perfect special occasion side dish.

Buttery Cooked Carrots

Simmered in brown sugar, these sweet, tender carrots are so quick and easy.

Ginger Carrots and Dates

Brown sugar and chopped dates add a sweet counterpoint to spicy gingered carrots.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States