Glazed Apple Cream Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2007
Don't be pushed away from this one by those who say that this is not an apple pie for apple pie lovers. It is. The custard makes it less traditional, but it's still fantastic. I made 2 of them for a small dinner party- enough for everyone to have some and some left over, which was greatly appreciated. It got rave reviews. I, like others, also used three apples in each one, plus some apple pie spice with the apples (and more cinnamon) and I also added a little cinnamon to the glaze which added just the right extra touch in my opinion. Try this- you'll love it. Oh- and warm each slices in the microwave about 25-30 seconds. It's so much better that way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Junebug883

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2004
All I have to say about this pie is YUM! The custardy filling and the spiced apples combine to make something so wonderfully delicious, and the plain old pie crust could be a dessert by itself when you add that delicious sugary glaze on top. I highly, highly recommend this recipe. A couple of suggestions: 1) The recipe suggests serving the pie cold, but try it at room temperature, or slightly warm (30 seconds in the microwave should do it) 2) One more apple will add a little thickness, and 3)The thinner your apple slices, the better! Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2002
WONDERFUL! I'm not a baker but have made this pie many times and it never fails to get rave reviews. People fight over seconds. - slice the apples very thin or precook them if you like thick chunks of apple. Try it with pear and/or peach. Adding walnut pieces is a nice variation. Use aluminum foil at the end of baking to keep the crust from getting too brown. A little extra cinnamon or lemon zest in the glaze is good. (I use an extra deep dish, make a lattice top and extra custard and glaze.) Make 2 and hide 1 if you want leftovers. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2005
The fillings are good, as is the glaze, hence 3 stars, but they just DO NOT go well together. I'm with some of the other reviewers. Use a different filling, I think then it would make a wonderful pie, especially with peaches. My hubbys favorite is Apple Pie, thats why I gave this recipe a shot. He said this pie was "O.K. but don't make it again." I agree with him. I think it all boiled down to this...... If you are a die hard Apple Pie lover, try another recipe. If you aren't so much into Apple Pies, then give this one a shot, maybe you will like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GODSGIRL
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
Thank you so very much for this recipe! I did make a couple of major changes, but this recipe was the inspiration for exactly what I was looking for. First, I made only one crust using whole wheat flour and butter flavor crisco. I made a crumb topping and did not use any glaze. I followed the instructions exactly for the cream . . . sooooo good. I used 3 apples and chopped and sautéed them before spreading them on top of the cream. This pie is the best!! Rat Rod Jess, Lactose intolerant may have to add a little more cornstarch with the milk substitute. I've made pudding (not this one though) with soy milk before and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GODSGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waldorf, Maryland, USA
Living In: Lynchburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ginny
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2007
This was FAB! I also added 4 large apples and doubled the flour, cinnamom,and added a touch a nutmeg, and clove. Great Great recipe! Thanxs 4 sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ginny
Home Town: Southbridge, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2003
I made this for a few friends I had over for dinner one night. As I was still serving, one of the guys that just couldn't wait exclaimed "Wow!" Everyone loved it. I had a deep dish pie pan, so I doubled the cream sauce and added an extra apple. I also increased the amount of cinnamon I used--probably about 1 tsp. Needless to say, wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2001
A unique pie with a great taste. Everyone loved it. Chilling the pie is an important step, don't skip it. I would love to make this pie again using cherries instead of apples. mmm...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2005
This is very good. I served it after it had only been in the refrigerator the suggested 1-1/2 hours so it was still warm and I thought it was almost too sweet. After a complete chilling it didn't seem as overpoweringly sweet though. My husband, who doesn't like his apple pie fooled around with said "this is really good," and asked me to make it again. High marks from him means it must be good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2005
I liked this pie. Not the best apple pie I've ever had but it was good. That said, I read other reviews and took some advice I wish I hadn't. I doubled the glaze and it was too much. The advice I liked was that I used 4 apples, a tad bit more cinnamon and it was good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LEXI70

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mansfield, Ohio, USA
Living In: Shelby, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 191) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Apple Crumble Pie

This fresh apple crumble pie is delicious and as easy as pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States