Glazed Apple Cream Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2008
This was a very unique pie, and very tasty. I have no complaints and will make it again next time apples are in season.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ddaisyy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mishawaka, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
Does anyone think I can make this without heavy cream? I found out recently that I'm lactose intolerant, and they sell Lactaid milk, so i can have that, but I can't have half and half or any other types of cream. I want to make this, but i'm not sure about leaving out the heavy cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rat Rod Jess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: North Pole, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2008
I admit I was skeptical about this pie - I wasn't sure how apples went with custard. I made it based on the 5 star rating it has - I am glad I did! My husband and I both loved this! I used more apple than the recipe calls for and I added a bit of nutmeg. We chilled the pie really well based on other reviews and it turned out fabulously. I would definitely make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth Cohen-Tribbie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Photo by GODSGIRL
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
Thank you so very much for this recipe! I did make a couple of major changes, but this recipe was the inspiration for exactly what I was looking for. First, I made only one crust using whole wheat flour and butter flavor crisco. I made a crumb topping and did not use any glaze. I followed the instructions exactly for the cream . . . sooooo good. I used 3 apples and chopped and sautéed them before spreading them on top of the cream. This pie is the best!! Rat Rod Jess, Lactose intolerant may have to add a little more cornstarch with the milk substitute. I've made pudding (not this one though) with soy milk before and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GODSGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waldorf, Maryland, USA
Living In: Lynchburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2008
Wonderful!!! I made by the recipe the first time, the pie looked slightly concave. But tasted delish. Made it a second time and doubled the custard and added enough apples to make the pie look all full and luscious. Too much cream. So next time i will make the cream as per the recipe and just load it up with the apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sweettreats
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2008
I love this pie. I don't like apple pie but this one is awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sweettreats
Home Town: Orangevale, California, USA
Living In: Antelope, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2008
I don't care for traditional apple pie, but this variation is absolutely delicious. The cream filling makes this pie scrumptious, and the recipe is so simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2008
This is a deliciously rich recipe, every since first making it, it has been a hit, my family likes it better after cooling for 30 minutes and eating warm with coolwhip, the neighbors rave that it is better than grandma's
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2008
Made this last night and only have 1 slice left. I was looking for a new twist to the standard apple pie and this was it. The only thing I did differently was I added more apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Billerica, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Chelmsford, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2008
This is a good pie. I usually make a different apple pie from this site and it's probably not fair that all other pies have to be compared to that one, but this one is a little different. I like the creamy filling in it and I like the glaze on the top of the crust. I think the next time I make this I will add in more cinnamon and some nutmeg and add some cinnamon to the glaze or skip the glaze and just do an egg wash with cinnamon and sugar. Very good pie though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bizzymomma

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 191) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Apple Crumble Pie

This fresh apple crumble pie is delicious and as easy as pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States