Glazed Apple Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2015
Added half tsp baking powder and baking soda to dry ingredients. Added 2 tsp vanilla to wet ingredients. Also added 1/2 cupish oatmeal. Baked 11 min. Doubled batch and got 4 dozen. Add more Apple next time or grate it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LVPERRY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
These were very good. My family really liked them. I used butter and shortening and they spread so next time I will try margarine. But I will definitely make them again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
Not as successful as others. Used 1/2 cup combined butter/shortening, baked at lower heat. Other than that, I followed the recipe. They taste good, but, do not look like the picture. They were lumpy looking. Very soft to form. Second batch, I put in fridge for a little while... still soft... added more flour. They still looked lumpy, not as shown in picture. Taste OK.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Megs
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
Made this gluten free by using Namaste GF flour blend without any other substitutions, turned out quite well. As the GF group knows, moist almost always equals chewy; however, this was not the case, though I recommend baking at the longer end and waiting until they cool to eat them. Also, for those of you have not used a glaze before , it is important to put the frosting on the cookie while warm, a dollop right on top and the heat will melt it right on the cookie. If you wait to frost the cookies when they are cool then a glaze is not your best option.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mclean, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2014
I made these for a large gathering and they went over very well. I didn't change a thing other than I took them out of the oven after 9 minutes and thought they were perfect! The kids really loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Webster City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
Great taste. I was having trouble with the cookies coming out flat, even with the butter baking soda/power switch as other recommend. Chilling the batter and lowering the oven to 375 helped. Convention also seemed to help cook the centers faster.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Navarro

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2014
Followed recipe except did not use raisins and increased apples to 1.5 cups. These were Excellent! A couple of notes: If you ice the cookies immediately after they come out of the oven, you will have just enough icing; however, if you wait and ice the cookies after they cool, you might want to double the icing. Icing immediately after they come out of the oven is best because (1) the cookies are so soft they would be hard to frost if cooled (2) a little icing goes a long way, and (3) the melted icing almost spreads itself. Check the cookies after 8 minutes and then again at 9 minutes. At 400 degrees, they baked quickly. I will definitely make these again but will read the other reviewer's comments and see if anyone mentioned making changes so the cookies were not so much like a cake. They were EXCELLENT, but if left a room temperature, they were a little too soft...but I maybe the extra apples caused this ....?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by dh31
Reviewed: May 3, 2014
Baked at 375. Used Granny Smith apples. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
well we started making it but then when we were pouring it on the tray we forgot to put in 2 cups of flour so when it got cooked it turned too goop so i think it was a little sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
Baking is relatively new to me. It's my "therapy" these days. My new motto is "If you can read, you can cook/bake." I use this site primarily to choose (mostly cookies) recipes. These cookies are delicious. They almost taste like glazed apple hermits. I baked them for 8-9 minutes so that I did not over bake them. My first batch (at 10 minutes) had blackish bottoms. Maybe from the greased cookie sheet? I think that I might use butter instead of shortning next time and maybe I won't grease the cookie sheet. Anyway, they were delicious! My boyfriend is my honest critic and gave them 4.5 stars. I am a bit more critical and rated them 3.5 stars. I did not use nuts this time, but plan to next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 288) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

White Chip Orange Cookies

These 5-star Christmas cookies have tantalizing vanilla and orange flavors.

Sweet and Salty Nestlé Toll House(R) Cookies

Satisfy your cravings for salty and sweet in one quick-and-easy cookie!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States