Glazed Apple Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2007
Good recipe! Per other reviewers, I did the following: replaced the shortening with butter/margarine, used 1/2 tsp baking soda + 1/2 tsp baking powder, used skim milk in place of half-and-half for the glaze, and I added 1/4 tsp cinnamon to the glaze. I spooned the glaze into a ziplock bag and chilled it in the fridge for 15min while I let the cookies cool. After the cookies were completely cool, I cut a corner snip off the ziplock bag containing the glaze and squeezed it to pipe lovely designs onto the cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
319 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2007
This is a great tasting soft cookie, cakelike rather than crispy. They remained soft even after leaving them out awhile to let the cookies cool before glazing. The cookies also stayed out on the racks to let the glaze harden so I could pack them safely in a container to give to friends (I kept a few for myself, just for scientific purposes), and the cookies still remained soft. I always enjoy reading member feedback, and went with the following suggestions: used equal parts shortening and butter, coursely grated one Granny Smith apple, and reduced oven temp to 350 adding a couple of extra minutes for baking. I don't eat much salt, so I went with a scant 1/2 tsp, used pecans I had on hand instead of walnuts, and used golden raisins instead of regular raisins. I liked the idea of a decorative glaze, but really the cookies are sweet enough without it. I made a thick glaze, put it in a small ziploc bag, and snipped off a tiny corner at the bottom of the bag. Starting at the center of each cookie, I squeezed out a spiral design. The cookies look nice and it minimizes the amount of glaze so it doesn't overpower the cookie. I made the amount of glaze per the original recipe, and only used about half of the glaze. Thanks for sharing a very good cookie recipe that stands out in the crowd. It's nice to find a recipe that uses fresh apples!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2007
I made these last week. Oh my GOSH, these are SOOO good. My hubby and I both loved them! I used margarine rather than shortening as margarine tends to help keep cookies from spreading out too thin. I also grated my apple (used 1 large Granny Smith), and squeezed most of the juice out. Lastly, to keep the cookies from spreading out due to the extra moisture in apples, I added about a half cup of rolled oats. The glaze is perfect with milk and a hint of cinnamon, and these cookies are to die for! I cooked them on 375 for 10-11 minutes. Oh, a secret to a good cookie is to use parchment paper rather than greasing your cookie sheets. This will be a new fall staple in our household! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALLY99

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Athens, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2007
Absolutely amazing. For once I did not change a thing except to bake at 375 for 8-9 minutes (first batch had to be thrown out at 400 degrees and 10 minutes the bottoms were black). The only think I may do in the future is add 1 extra cup of apples. These are incredible. Soft, chewy and full of flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northridge, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2006
Like a couple others, I used unsalted butter instead of shortening; I also left out the nuts (since a lot of people can't eat them) and the raisins (I don't like them) and added cinnamon chips instead. I had to make a second batch of icing because the recipe just didn't make enough to cover all the cookies. They were excellent, though, and everyone who tried them came back for seconds and thirds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2007
WOW--I've made these for the last 2 years during apple season. BIG HIT, everyone loves them. Only thing I changed was that I used milk instead of half and half for the frosting and I put the frosting in a cake decorated bottle and drew lines on the cookies. Easier because these cookies are so moist they're hard to frost.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sime

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2007
These are yummy cookies. The edges are crispy and inside is fluffy, almost like a muffin. I omitted the raisins and replaced with extra apples. Also added a tad bit of vanilla to the mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ritajennings

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FNChef
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
For those of you who appreciate a review of the recipe as it's written, here you go: THESE ARE FABULOUS! I used shortening, even though I usually use butter. I didn't increase any spices, as I normally would. I baked at the time/temp specified and it worked well! Bake just until they lose their sheen...they will look like they are darkening, but it's the spices, trust me. I also normally use a cookie scooper for a perfectly round cookie, but liked the rustic look of the chopped nuts and apples. I orginally wasn't going to frost them because they are SUPER tasty without it... but decided to do it just to follow the recipe... WOWZA! A very light layer of frosting/glaze knocks them out of the park! 5 stars for a GREAT recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FNChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2007
These were so yummy!!!! My 11 month old was crazy about these. I am always looking for a way to sneak in some healthy items into our cookies and this was a great and tasty way to make them. They were crunchy on the outside and soft on the inside. Perfect! Thank you so much for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sanzoe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Excelsior, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2007
My kids absolutly love these (and so do I!). I used a premade cream cheese icing and it worked great! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 280) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States