Glazed Apple Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 17)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
I made these for my daughter's class apple tasting event. I left out the nuts and used butter (I avoid working with shortening if I can). I shredded the apples so I could squeeze the ever living daylights out of them so the dough didn't end up too watery. I don't know what size cookies these are supposed to be that it only makes 18, but I got 3 normal sized cookies short of 5 dozen. They're good. Definately sweet enough without the icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Owosso, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
I thought these were really great cookies. They are very moist. I don't like a hard cookie. I left out the nuts and the raisins. I don't really like nutty cookies unless its macadamia and the husband and I hate raisins so I don't stock them in the pantry. We had just gone to the apple orchard and wanted something to make that wasn't pie and I found these. I subbed smart balance for the shortening, and once I got down to adding the last dry ingredients it seemed already more moist than most cookie batters so I left out the milk completely. I was too lazy to dig all the spices out of the cabinet and allspice was right in front so I used a tsp of that with a tsp of cinnamon. I decreased the temp to 375 per some reviewers but that increased the time to about 13-15 minutes. I used a maple glaze instead of the one that was written because I had just made the maple-drizzled apple muffins from this site and really like the maple glaze so I used that and it was really good with the spicy apple flavor of the cookies. for the glaze it was: 1 cup powdered sugar, 4 tablespoons maple syrup and 1/2 teaspoon of vanilla extract. These are a hit with me and when my husband gets home we'll see how he likes them. It's an nice break from chocolate chip cookies I usually make :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by T Roos

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
I didn't change a thing other than not having icing sugar on hand, so I skipped the icing. They were great and "tasted just like fall". They kept a long time in a sealed container as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
I made these cookies exactly as the recipe is written and they were delicious! I will definitely make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2009
I made these cookies for a Thanksgiving potluck at my daughter's school. They were all eaten and the kids loved them. I did not put the glaze on and it was not missed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SKOONUS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2009
Mine came out a little too moist, but the flavor was great. Very different use for apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chester, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
These cookies are amazing!So soft and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
de-lish-ous! i, too, swapped out the shortening for softened butter & omitted the frosting! fabulous cookies but don't be fooled that they're healthy just because they contain apples; there is more sugar than apples in this recipe! i would make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2009
As a shameless junk food junkie, I left out the walnuts and raisins and added in butterscotch chips. They were terrific! I took the advice of other reviewers and grated the apples instead of chopping them. Be careful not to make them too big (I found teaspoon-sized drops were best), or they'll get too flat and floppy. And if you're not a sugar fanatic, make sure you go easy on the glaze, it was a bit over the top even for me. These stay good and moist for a long time, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
Very good, I used 2 large granny smith apples coarsley grated, margarine instead of shortening and used whole wheat flour and about 1/2 cup quick oats to make it healthier, the icing is nice but I just did a thin drizzle to keep the sweetness down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 161-170 (of 286) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

White Chip Orange Cookies

These 5-star Christmas cookies have tantalizing vanilla and orange flavors.

Sweet and Salty Nestlé Toll House(R) Cookies

Satisfy your cravings for salty and sweet in one quick-and-easy cookie!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States