Glazed Apple Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
I wasn't sure when I got these cookies out of the oven, I don't always love the soft cookies, and when I tried one after it had cooled, I didn't think they had much flavor and I wasn't crazy about the texture. I ended up only making half the batch. I put them in a covered pan and left them out on my counter. The next day I tried one and it was SO GOOD! Moist with lots of flavor. I will definitely make them again, definitely a crowd pleaser, my family gobbled them up! Changes I made: butter for shortening, I add 1/3 cup of applesauce and still used the 1 cup of apples. I omitted the walnuts. I increased the cinnamin/nutmeg alittle, and I was out of cloves. To the frosting I added cinnamin, and I used less milk/cream and more powdered sugar, I also added some flour to it because i wanted it alittle thicker consistency. Thanks for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kekear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
The taste is delicious. Very yummy, not overly spicy, not overly sweet. They are super soft and moist. I didn't use nuts, I tossed in dried cranberries and cinnamon chips. I think the cinnamon chips are a huge factor in their yummy taste!! My only problem was that they went quite flat and didn't hold shape very well, they fall apart really easily. I just now read advice to make teaspoon sized cookies, mine were tablespoon-plus -- maybe that would've helped. Refrigerating the dough in between also helped my later batches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Loo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Cheshire, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
Great tasting cookie. Mine turned out a little flat, even though I used 1/2 tsp of powder. I did change it a bit to make it healthier. Used 1/2 cup of whole wheat flour and 1/2 cup oat bran. Soaked the raisons too. Some of these changes could have resulted in my flat cookie. Anyway, they were a hit with my kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vienna, West Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
Awesome recipe!! Thanks to the others who reviewed his recipe, I was able to make cookies that didn't go flat...Yummy! Skipped the raisons though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bethany Burgess

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
I know it's not really apple season right now, but I was in the mood for some cinnamon and spice, and I love pretty much anything with apples in it. These did not disappoint. I used a combination of fuji and granny smith because that is what I had. The glaze is a must. It takes these cookies to the next level with that buttery vanilla flavor. Great cookie and a recipe that I will keep on hand when I have so many apples to use up this fall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JMM0430
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
These cookies were amazing! The apple I chose made well over 1 cup when diced, so I just added all the apple (including skin) and skipped the raisins. I undercooked them by a minute or two which made the cookies extra soft and moist...almost like a muffin! I used half whole wheat flour and half all-purpose. Also, I added some cinnamon and nutmeg to the icing (which was to-die-for). My house smelled great for hours! I will definitely be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JMM0430

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Elkhorn, Nebraska, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2010
These were really good. Nice and soft! I made some changes: used all butter instead of shortening, baked at 350 F, and left the butter out of the icing so it would set better. They are awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen Ruppenstein Dunegan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Exton, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
These were pretty good! I added a bit more flour 1 tbsp. so that they would not spread quite as much. I also cooked the raisins in a little water first to reconstitute them and I think that made them nicer in the cookie... a little plump. Will make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie ...from...Saskatchewan!

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bruno, Saskatchewan, Canada
Living In: Eston, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
Delicious! Nice and soft. The only thing I did different was use butter instead of shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
I made these cookies as given (except I used real butter in place of the shortening and 2% milk in the glaze instead of the half-and-half) and they turned out perfectly. I also added cinnamon chips to the batter (because I had them on hand). This is a wonderful recipe! I agree with those who said to let them get almost all the way cool before frosting. I wouldn't let them cool completely, however, because the frosting doesn't 'glaze as well. Don't leave out the nuts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TESSLYNN
Home Town: Robins, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 287) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

White Chip Orange Cookies

These 5-star Christmas cookies have tantalizing vanilla and orange flavors.

Sweet and Salty Nestlé Toll House(R) Cookies

Satisfy your cravings for salty and sweet in one quick-and-easy cookie!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States