Glazed Apple Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
Amazing! I changed it up a bit; sub'd butter for shortening, shredded the apple, cut baking soda in 1/2 & added a 1/2 tsp of baking powder, omitted the clove, walnuts & raisins (don't care for those items in cookies) & added1/2 cup cinnamon chips. I also up'd the temp to 375 and baked for 8 minutes. These are great! super moist, and have a fabulous fall taste. Thanks you so much for the recipes, it's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin4eight

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grants Pass, Oregon, USA
Living In: Medford, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
These are the best cookies. I made them today and they are almost all gone. everyone loves these cookies and wants the recipe. I plan on making a double batch tomorow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
I definitely just fell in love with this cookie! But I also need to admit the changes I made. First off, I used a chopped up peach, not an apple. Added an egg yolk. Added 1/2 tsp of baking powder. Added 2 TBS softened butter. (But did use shortening b/c I thought it might give stability). Added 1/4 cup of oats. As for glaze...powdered sugar, cinnamon, skim milk (b/c that was all I had), 1/4 tsp of salt, and a pinch of instant espresso powder. Sounds crazy, but it worked for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
These cookies have an excellent flavor! I used regular 2% milk for the glaze and it turned out great. I grated the apples like other reviewers suggested, but next time I'm going to dice them...I didn't think these was quite enough apple flavor. I'll probably also add a little more apple. All in all delicious and i will definitely be making them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mizcox

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Forsyth, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
Lovely spicy cookies
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
Delicious! I used real butter instead of shortening. I also used whole milk instead of the cream. They turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinCarrie
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
These are really good! They are more like cake style cookies though. I didn't add the icing because they were sweet enough on their own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by muffinpatch

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
Do yourself a favor and make a double batch of these right off the bat. AMAZING! I doubled the apples and omitted the nuts. Next time, I might add some oats, just to crisp them up a bit, because although mighty tasty, they fell apart very easily. These are a keeper. You'll agree, I promise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amherst, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
These are really good. I used butter (personal preference) and spelt flour to make them healthier. I didn't add raisins because my family does not like them. Next time I'll double the apples and chill the dough. I did not add the glaze either, they were really good with out it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
Excellent, soft, cake like cookie. Using apples from the backyard. Used butter instead of shortening b/c I had it on hand.. not sure if it makes a difference or not. Could reduce salt to 1/4 t, and I reduced the raisins to 3/4 c. I didn't realize icing was so easy to make. I'll be making all my icing from scratch from now on. I had a couple of them but they are too tempting to so I took them to work and they were gone within the hour. Thank you for a nice recipe using fresh apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sang
Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 280) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States