Glazed Apple Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
These are great! I left out the walnuts, and used butter instead of shortening, and I wasn't totally impressed with them fresh, but the next day they were FABULOUS. Today is day 3, and they rock. Soft and chewy and spicy and totally yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
Delicious. used 2 granny smith apples, didnt even peel them. Chose not to make the,glaze, they are super even without the glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Battle Ground, Washington, USA
Living In: La Center, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
These are really good, but not quite as flavorful as I expected (and I used 1 /12 cups of chopped apple instead of just one cup and I also used the raisins, nuts, etc. that the original recipe calls for). I didn't plan to do the glaze, but I found that they really needed it or else they just wouldn't have had much taste as I prefer. So I'll make these again, but next time, I'll add some vanilla to the batter and use at least 2 cups of chopped apples. Oh, also -- I put mine on the cookie sheet in balls about 2" round and my cookies didn't flatten and didn't look so nice with the glaze. So if you're planning to glaze these and take them somewhere and are concerned about presentation, I'd definitely keep the dough in small, tablespoon-size balls (like the recipe says to do, anyways) so that they do flatten out a bit. But the consistency of mine still turned out really good. A great cookie for Autumn! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
Phenomenal! Cookies are moist and spicy. I did change the oven temp to 350 degrees and baked longer, made only 1/2 of the icing and put in a snack bag, cutting out corner of bag and drizzled icing over in a back and forth pattern. Next time I'll make smiley faces on them for my special grandsons! a keeper recipe :) I can't wait to try them out on my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jefferson City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
Wow! Tasted so good and made the house smell amazing... Perfect recipe for a cool fall morning. I used 1 /2 shortening and 1/2 butter. I didn't add raisins because my kids begged me not to :) I made the glaze and really loved it, but I didn't use it for all the cookies, as they didn't really need it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
Used 1 Honey Crisp apple and chopped it fine. It was more than a cup but it worked out great. Like others, I used butter instead of shortening. I forgot to add the 1/4 c. milk and I guess the additional apples made up for that. I added chopped dried cherries instead of raisins. I'm not a raisin lover. Delicious cookie! Used maple syrup instead of cream for the glaze and had to make additional glaze. Added a tablespoon or so of milk to thin it a bit. We loved these cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cndysc

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
These are fluffy and delicious! The glaze is very sweet so I didn't use much. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
Amazing! I changed it up a bit; sub'd butter for shortening, shredded the apple, cut baking soda in 1/2 & added a 1/2 tsp of baking powder, omitted the clove, walnuts & raisins (don't care for those items in cookies) & added1/2 cup cinnamon chips. I also up'd the temp to 375 and baked for 8 minutes. These are great! super moist, and have a fabulous fall taste. Thanks you so much for the recipes, it's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin4eight

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grants Pass, Oregon, USA
Living In: Medford, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
These are the best cookies. I made them today and they are almost all gone. everyone loves these cookies and wants the recipe. I plan on making a double batch tomorow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
I definitely just fell in love with this cookie! But I also need to admit the changes I made. First off, I used a chopped up peach, not an apple. Added an egg yolk. Added 1/2 tsp of baking powder. Added 2 TBS softened butter. (But did use shortening b/c I thought it might give stability). Added 1/4 cup of oats. As for glaze...powdered sugar, cinnamon, skim milk (b/c that was all I had), 1/4 tsp of salt, and a pinch of instant espresso powder. Sounds crazy, but it worked for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 287) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

White Chip Orange Cookies

These 5-star Christmas cookies have tantalizing vanilla and orange flavors.

Sweet and Salty Nestlé Toll House(R) Cookies

Satisfy your cravings for salty and sweet in one quick-and-easy cookie!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States