Glazed Apple Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2014
I made these for a large gathering and they went over very well. I didn't change a thing other than I took them out of the oven after 9 minutes and thought they were perfect! The kids really loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Webster City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
Great taste. I was having trouble with the cookies coming out flat, even with the butter baking soda/power switch as other recommend. Chilling the batter and lowering the oven to 375 helped. Convention also seemed to help cook the centers faster.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Navarro

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2014
Followed recipe except did not use raisins and increased apples to 1.5 cups. These were Excellent! A couple of notes: If you ice the cookies immediately after they come out of the oven, you will have just enough icing; however, if you wait and ice the cookies after they cool, you might want to double the icing. Icing immediately after they come out of the oven is best because (1) the cookies are so soft they would be hard to frost if cooled (2) a little icing goes a long way, and (3) the melted icing almost spreads itself. Check the cookies after 8 minutes and then again at 9 minutes. At 400 degrees, they baked quickly. I will definitely make these again but will read the other reviewer's comments and see if anyone mentioned making changes so the cookies were not so much like a cake. They were EXCELLENT, but if left a room temperature, they were a little too soft...but I maybe the extra apples caused this ....?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by dh31
Reviewed: May 3, 2014
Baked at 375. Used Granny Smith apples. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
well we started making it but then when we were pouring it on the tray we forgot to put in 2 cups of flour so when it got cooked it turned too goop so i think it was a little sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
Baking is relatively new to me. It's my "therapy" these days. My new motto is "If you can read, you can cook/bake." I use this site primarily to choose (mostly cookies) recipes. These cookies are delicious. They almost taste like glazed apple hermits. I baked them for 8-9 minutes so that I did not over bake them. My first batch (at 10 minutes) had blackish bottoms. Maybe from the greased cookie sheet? I think that I might use butter instead of shortning next time and maybe I won't grease the cookie sheet. Anyway, they were delicious! My boyfriend is my honest critic and gave them 4.5 stars. I am a bit more critical and rated them 3.5 stars. I did not use nuts this time, but plan to next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
Used butter in place of shortening and 1/2 tsp each baking soda & powder instead of 1 tsp soda. Extra apples which I chopped in food processor and left out the walnuts. Piped the icing over top. These were cake-like and did have good flavor but just not outstanding. We did end up finishing them all which shows me that they are definitely good but with al the outstanding cookies out there I'm just not sure these are worth making again. If someone really just like apple cake-y type cookies then maybe. I added up all numbers at the end and I got a total of 44 cookies for 3 WW points each.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
After reading the other reviews, I substituted butter for the shortening and baked at 375 for 10 - 11 minutes. I also waited to glaze until the cookie had cooled a bit. I think they are good and they passed the Hubby test! I said I'd make them again and he said he'd eat them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
Forgot the milk in the first batch & they were so good I will skip the milk next time completely. Soft and beautiful, so glad I tried this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
I followed the recipe exactly and they were delicious. I found that they bake quickly and were done to perfection when the bottoms were brown but the tops did not look quite done. A little orange color to the glaze would add a nice touch for fall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 284) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States