Glazed Almond Bundt Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
This is a wonderful cake--beautiful to look at (golden crust and crusty top). It is a tender, light cake--not at all heavy. The suggested cooking time was too long for me. I used a thermometer to test for doneness and I pulled it from oven at 200 degrees--that was at 50 minutes for my oven--so watch closely and test early. The glaze didn't sound right--so I used powdered sugar instead of white sugar. It was still too runny so I added more, but I still had to scoop up the runoff and reapply. It still tasted great. As many have suggested, it would make a great shortcake. I will serve it with whipped cream to the side tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BakerGal

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
This cake is delicious. I followed other reviewers' advice and added more almond extract to the batter. I did 2 1/2 tsp. almond extract, 1 1/2 vanilla. I have made this twice, and the second time with more almond was much tastier. Also, the second time I used four mini-loaf pans instead of the bundt pan and baked them for 50 minutes. They turned out perfect. I poured the glaze over the top of all four loaves on plates and let them soak up the extra on the bottom. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
I was looking for a cake recipie for Thanksgiving tomorrow. I had to make it twice. Please grease your bundt pan generously with butter first. My first cake stuck and was ruined, however my kids agreed that it was delicious and that was before the glaze. I did feel the first was a little dry so here is what I did for the second. I did not change the cake recipie at all, I hate when people rate a recipie they change first. The cake only needed about 45 minutes. When it was removed from the oven I immediately poked holes and poured some glaze on the bottom, while still piping hot. I unmolded the cake and drizzled remaining glaze over the top and topped with chopped almonds. I did make a different glaze only because I prefer to use powdered sugar. You need about a cup and a half of sugar and a couple T of milk. I also added some almond extract. Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Karen
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
This cake is AWESOME!. My boyfriend asked me to make this cake for his Thanksgiving Brunch he was having at work. So I decided to first try it at home. I read the reviews. Yes..added more almond - and decreased the vanilla by 1/2 tsp. Was not happy with the glaze recipe that this cake offered so I surfed this site for Vanilla Glaze - found this one --- and - so I used this glaze recipe instead but just added some almond extract. I did read the reviews on that one as well..so watch the milk - but I'm telling you..it was the best combination. I have submitted a couple of photos of my cake. Good Luck and Happy Baking!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Petersburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
Overall the taste was not bad but I wish I had read the reviews before baking this one. It was very crumbly, stuck to the pan even with the oil and flower, and I fould the recipe to be a bit confusing because it calls for white sugar and doesn't state powdered or granulated. Wont be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tasneem
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
A lovely cake, I baked it yesterday morning and by lunch it was gone. It's a must bake cake, I'm defiantly going to bake it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tasneem

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by Suzie
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
Wonderful Tasting cake! Pretty also! Because of reading some reviews, I did change the amount of almond extract to 2.5 teas. and vanilla extract to 1.5 teas. GREAT taste! I gave it only 4 stars because I made the frosting exactly as written and it was SO runny. I thew it away and made my own with powdered sugar, milk, real butter and almond extract - I did double frosting amount. Bake it only 45 min. and came out golden brown and completely done. As for the cake sticking to the pan, I used room temp. (real) butter to grease and then instead of flour (which causes that white powdery look) I dust with white sugar - It makes it brown to a golden lightly crispy surface. Thank You!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
I make this recipe for a Bake Sale at work and used a mini bundt cake pan. EXCELLENT!! My bundts were gone before noon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAURALLYNN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manhattan Beach, California, USA
Living In: West Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
Delicious! My husband & I will definitely be making this again. I added some poppy seeds as well
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Minacraft

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by hardrockgirl
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
Delicious but VERY sweet. It doesn't take much of this cake to satisfy a sweet tooth. I used a tube pan. I wish I had added more almond extract to my cake batter, though. I like almond pound cake like a certain company's Absolutely Almond Pound Cake Mix...still trying to find the recipe to replicate that boxed mix. Oh and I also added a bit of the flour I measured out to the almonds when I ground them in the food processor. Worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hardrockgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yorba Linda, California, USA
Living In: Mechanicsville, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 164) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Sour Cream Bundt Cake

Discover the no-fail way to make moist chocolate Bundt cake.

Mardi Gras King Cake

Make the famous New Orleans cake with the surprise inside!

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States