Glazed Almond Bundt Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
Great, simple cake. Like many reviewers, I used icing sugar instead of white sugar for the glaze, and also triple the amount of sugar for it. And like others, I adjusted the amounts of flavour extracts; using 1 1/2 teaspoons of Almond and 1 1/4 teaspoons of Vanilla. Baking slivered almonds in the oven at 350 F for the topping worked out nicely too. Next time I'm going to try the fresh raspberries in the middle though :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LuLuSRQ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA
Photo by Fabi2133
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
Great recipe! I made just today and my 2 year old son loves it already. Very soft and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
Meh...I was somewhat let down after all the rave reviews...A bit dry. However, as an almond lover, next time I'll cut back on the baking time. And that glaze recipe was like water. I'll try adding some cornstarch and more almond extract I'll also try a gluten free version with rice flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: River Forest, Illinois, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
I was really disappointed in this cake and you can't be more of an almond fan than I am. As others said, the bake time was way too long - it was dry and heavy. The taste was almost bitter - not sure if it was too much almond extract? It may be better if you reduce the time and make adjustments, but for me it's just not worth trying again..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
I really liked this. I made extra glaze and added a bunch of almonds and covered the cake with the glaze so the cake tasted similar to a biscotti or Italian breakfast cookie. I have a convection oven and cooked at a lower temp and took it out early but earlier would have been even better. I definitely would not substitute margarine for butter in this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
As modified below, it was dry but tasty. If I did it again, I'd replace half of the butter with applesauce. Recipe changes: I ground the almonds with some granulated sugar (to prevent them from turning to paste), used 1 more tsp of almond and 1 tsp less of vanilla extract, 1/4 cup less sugar, and cooked for 50 minutes MAX. Also, the sugar for the glaze should be confectioner's, and the amount of milk for the glaze is WAY off - I used one tbsp only, and it was great. I would suggest doubling the glaze but leaving the slivered almonds as-is. Toast them for 6 minutes at 350, if you bought raw :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
I loved this cake. I followed the direction,no changes and the cake came out great! I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
Loved this recipe! My husband thought it was too sweet and wanted me to only use half the recommended amount of sugar. He also didn't like the glaze. Again be said it was too sweet. I likes the cake a lot but I did have problems getting the cake out of the pan. My mother-in-law gave me a new pan, so next time I'll try that
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
Superb flavor and texture - a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2013
Delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 162) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Mardi Gras King Cake

Make the famous New Orleans cake with the surprise inside!

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States