Glazed Almond Bundt Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
Phenomenal! A huge hit with everyone that has tasted it. Even when I ruined the first attempt by not greasing/flouring the bundt pan enough, I just turned it into a trifle by layering cake cubes with whipped cream and berries. I do poke holes in the bottom right away and pour the glaze into the holes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newark, Ohio, USA
Living In: Westerville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
I followed a combination of suggestions. I decreased white sugar to 1 cup, increased almond extract to 2.5 tsp. I also attempted to put 1/2 cup butter and 1/2 cup applesauce but neglected to add the applesauce. I didn't discover that until after I reviewed the recipe with my mom after my family enjoyed this cake. I thought it was a little dry but adding that applesauce would have cured that! I baked for 45 minutes and sprinkled the bundt pan with sugar rather than flour to create a crunchy topping. Excellent cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
Loved it!!! very easy to make an very moist i will be making this again an again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
I made this for my wife's birthday. She loved it! Not so much a bundt as a home run!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
Moist and Delicious! After looking at various almond cake recipes, I did modify this slightly. I only used 1/2 stick of unsalted butter, 8 oz. plain nonfat greek yogurt, and a brick of 1/3 less fat cream cheese. Also upped the almond extract to 2 tsp. I didnt grind the almonds, only added slivered to the batter. For the glaze I combined 1 c. powdered sugar, 2 Tb. milk and a tsp. almond extract. Drizzled over the cake and then topped with more slivered almonds. Baked at 350 for about 50 minutes in a bundt pan. Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PaulaA80

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
this cake was delicious moist and a worderful flavor of almond reminded me almond biscotti
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
Wonderful, moist, dense texture with intense almond flavor! Everyone raved about it! I made the following modifications: increased almond extract to 3 teaspoons, substitute almond paste for ground almonds, and substitute sour milk/buttermilk for the milk in the cake. Substituted powdered sugar for white sugar for the glaze. The cake baked perfectly golden in a standard bundt pan and looked so pretty topped with almonds and glaze. Absolutely wonderful and this will become a staple in our family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
Nice light taste, great with a cup of coffee. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
I’m so pleased with this! It’s dense, fluffy, moist, and overall lovely. Despite what looks like a lot of sugar, it’s not very sweet, and it really does need a glaze, but I didn't use the glaze in the recipe because of the ambiguity about what kind of sugar to use. I improvised a bit – halved the recipe, used 1 tsp. vanilla and ½ tsp. almond baking emulsion, since that’s what I had (which is, I think, a little weaker than almond extract), added a tablespoon of poppy seeds, and baked it in a loaf pan. I sprayed my loaf pan with nonstick cooking spray instead of following the instructions to grease and flour the pan, and I won’t do that again, haha – definitely grease and flour! For the glaze, I combined 1 cup confectioner’s sugar with 2 tablespoons of beer – sound weird, I know, but it SO works.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by campagnes

Cooking Level: Professional

Photo by KDA1114
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
Yummy! Delicious and moist. For the glaze I used powdered sugar, not white sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KDA1114

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelbyville, Kentucky, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 166) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Sour Cream Bundt Cake

Discover the no-fail way to make moist chocolate Bundt cake.

Mardi Gras King Cake

Make the famous New Orleans cake with the surprise inside!

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States