Glazed Almond Bundt Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
Loved this cake! My only complaint is the icing, wasn't necessary since the cake was so sweet. Substituted applesauce for oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MplsGirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
Wow! It had a nice buttery almond taste to it. Did not make the icing, but we served the slices with some coconut pudding, sliced strawberries, and sliced almonds. Very nice texture, not too crumbly as other reviewers have stated. Would make a good addition to a gift platter, sliced up with other breads. Next time I think I will make two loaves as opposed to the bundt cake. 2nd day and it is just as good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by S
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2012
Made this exactly as the recipe stated, except for the increase of vanilla and almond extract as stated by other reviewers. I don't have a bundt pan so I made a 3 tier cake instead. Frosted the inside with pure raspberry jam (smuckers), and outside with unsweetened whipped cream, toasted almond slivers & fresh raspberries. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
Followed the recipe exactly - except as so many had posted - I used 3 tsp of almond extract and checked the cake @ 40 minutes, and took it out of the oven @ 50 minutes. Cake looked beautiful and easily came out of my bundt pan (prepped as suggested). Now... up until this point all is well, and I’m pleased as punch as I’m more of a cook than a baker. On to the icing I go. The icing (I used powder / icing sugar) calls for wayyyy too much milk. Double the recipe BUT use 2 tsp of milk. I kept re glazing and still couldn’t achieve the nice white contrast shown in the picture. My icing was pale and translucent (cake was cool so not sure why). In the end, I just sprinkled more almonds on and it still looked fine, but cooks be warned - pick a better icing recipe! I gave this recipe 4 stars because of the icing - though the cake on it’s own truly deserves a 5. I will make this cake again - great for meetings / events / bridge etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pat Levin-Kell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
This cake was really good even with my substitutions...I didn't have almonds so I just used almond extract for both the cake & glaze (& not real almonds). For the cake, instead of using vanilla I used almond instead (so it about double almond extract than it called for). I also only had multigrain/wheat flour and not white flour and the cake still worked out really well! The glaze I found really sweet so I added some water and watered it down a bit...maybe next time I would leave out the sugar and just do the almond extract not sure - and I heated my glaze on the stove. It was a good cake and I will definitely make it again. It didn't stick to the pan either and was easy to get out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
I just made this to bring to my boyfriends parents house for Christmas and I'm seriously considering skipping the entire event just to keep this bundt cake to myself. It is absolutely amazing. I followed the suggestions to double the almond extract and to use 1 1/2 tsp of vanilla and it was just perfect. It finished cooking in around 50-55 minutes and is just perfect. This is an amazing recipe. With that said, go make it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by justmisskasik

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
I love this cake! I do cook the glaze which helps it not be grainy! I have served it lots of times and everyone always raves about it. I've been asked for the recipe several times. I love how easy it is, and yet how beautiful it turns out. If you can find ground almonds, it makes it even easier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
Since I've discovered this recipe, i've baked this cake thrice in three weeks. My son never liked nut cakes of any kind, till he met this one!! I made a few changes- a third the quantity of sugar and twice the quantity of nuts. Can't get enough! 5 stars for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
Really good bundt cake. A little sweet for my taste, but an excellent almond flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
Loved this! I made it for a coworkers birthday and served it with a homemade raspberry sauce (recipe on this site) to mimic an almond shortbread/raspberry thumbprint cookie. It was very successful and easy to follow. Beautiful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lynnbot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 167) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Sour Cream Bundt Cake

Discover the no-fail way to make moist chocolate Bundt cake.

Mardi Gras King Cake

Make the famous New Orleans cake with the surprise inside!

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States