Glazed Almond Bundt Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
this was an awesome! i made mine in cake pans with just a little more of the extracts then i learned a little too late that i only had one and a half cups of all purpose flour left so i used one cup of bread flour. i frosted it with rich chocolate frosting and it was a wonderful combination of dense and moist i will defiantly make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bristol, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: May 12, 2012
This recipe is always a hit! Everyone loves it and asks when I will be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Merrillville, Indiana, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
Thank you Aaronsmom for posting this amazing recipe!!!!! I didn't funk up your recipe with substitutions, I just increased the almond extract to 3 tsps for the batter and 1 tsp for the glaze, added another 1/2 cup of almonds to the batter and a little more for the glaze because we love almonds. The cake was moist and the taste was just amazing!! I have finally found a cake that my whole family loves!!! Thanks again for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brampton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
Loved this cake! My only complaint is the icing, wasn't necessary since the cake was so sweet. Substituted applesauce for oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MplsGirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
Wow! It had a nice buttery almond taste to it. Did not make the icing, but we served the slices with some coconut pudding, sliced strawberries, and sliced almonds. Very nice texture, not too crumbly as other reviewers have stated. Would make a good addition to a gift platter, sliced up with other breads. Next time I think I will make two loaves as opposed to the bundt cake. 2nd day and it is just as good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by S
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2012
Made this exactly as the recipe stated, except for the increase of vanilla and almond extract as stated by other reviewers. I don't have a bundt pan so I made a 3 tier cake instead. Frosted the inside with pure raspberry jam (smuckers), and outside with unsweetened whipped cream, toasted almond slivers & fresh raspberries. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
Followed the recipe exactly - except as so many had posted - I used 3 tsp of almond extract and checked the cake @ 40 minutes, and took it out of the oven @ 50 minutes. Cake looked beautiful and easily came out of my bundt pan (prepped as suggested). Now... up until this point all is well, and I’m pleased as punch as I’m more of a cook than a baker. On to the icing I go. The icing (I used powder / icing sugar) calls for wayyyy too much milk. Double the recipe BUT use 2 tsp of milk. I kept re glazing and still couldn’t achieve the nice white contrast shown in the picture. My icing was pale and translucent (cake was cool so not sure why). In the end, I just sprinkled more almonds on and it still looked fine, but cooks be warned - pick a better icing recipe! I gave this recipe 4 stars because of the icing - though the cake on it’s own truly deserves a 5. I will make this cake again - great for meetings / events / bridge etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pat’s Kitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
This cake was really good even with my substitutions...I didn't have almonds so I just used almond extract for both the cake & glaze (& not real almonds). For the cake, instead of using vanilla I used almond instead (so it about double almond extract than it called for). I also only had multigrain/wheat flour and not white flour and the cake still worked out really well! The glaze I found really sweet so I added some water and watered it down a bit...maybe next time I would leave out the sugar and just do the almond extract not sure - and I heated my glaze on the stove. It was a good cake and I will definitely make it again. It didn't stick to the pan either and was easy to get out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
I just made this to bring to my boyfriends parents house for Christmas and I'm seriously considering skipping the entire event just to keep this bundt cake to myself. It is absolutely amazing. I followed the suggestions to double the almond extract and to use 1 1/2 tsp of vanilla and it was just perfect. It finished cooking in around 50-55 minutes and is just perfect. This is an amazing recipe. With that said, go make it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by justmisskasik

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
I love this cake! I do cook the glaze which helps it not be grainy! I have served it lots of times and everyone always raves about it. I've been asked for the recipe several times. I love how easy it is, and yet how beautiful it turns out. If you can find ground almonds, it makes it even easier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Mardi Gras King Cake

Make the famous New Orleans cake with the surprise inside!

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States