Glazed Almond Bundt Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
I really liked this. I made extra glaze and added a bunch of almonds and covered the cake with the glaze so the cake tasted similar to a biscotti or Italian breakfast cookie. I have a convection oven and cooked at a lower temp and took it out early but earlier would have been even better. I definitely would not substitute margarine for butter in this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
As modified below, it was dry but tasty. If I did it again, I'd replace half of the butter with applesauce. Recipe changes: I ground the almonds with some granulated sugar (to prevent them from turning to paste), used 1 more tsp of almond and 1 tsp less of vanilla extract, 1/4 cup less sugar, and cooked for 50 minutes MAX. Also, the sugar for the glaze should be confectioner's, and the amount of milk for the glaze is WAY off - I used one tbsp only, and it was great. I would suggest doubling the glaze but leaving the slivered almonds as-is. Toast them for 6 minutes at 350, if you bought raw :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Petra Holden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
I loved this cake. I followed the direction,no changes and the cake came out great! I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
Loved this recipe! My husband thought it was too sweet and wanted me to only use half the recommended amount of sugar. He also didn't like the glaze. Again be said it was too sweet. I likes the cake a lot but I did have problems getting the cake out of the pan. My mother-in-law gave me a new pan, so next time I'll try that
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
Superb flavor and texture - a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandra O Callaghan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2013
Delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
This is a great cake, I made it exactly like the recipe and I suggest increasing the almond extract by a teaspoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
Gorgeous cake! I used half a cup of melted butter and half a cup of applesauce. I also used almond milk in place of the regular milk and reduced the sugar to 1 and half cups of brown sugar, but if you like a sweeter cake stick with 2 cups. I substituted half a cup of flour for half a cup of flax meal. Instead of creaming the butter and sugar I just melted the butter and mixed all the wet ingredients together and then gently stirred the dry ingredients in- like I do when I make muffins and it turned out truly AMAZING! I didn't bother with the glaze just dusted it with powdered sugar. I'll be making this cake again and again and again ..............
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
I did not care for the texture of the almonds in the cake batter. I am a huge lover of almond and I was very excited to try this. I would never make this again. This is not a light airy almond cake. The almonds in the batter make the cake grainy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen Spyker
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
This was excellent! It tastes like my favorite christmas cookies my mom used to make! Easy, pretty and delicious! One note I would not call this a glaze in the typical bundt cake fashion, it soaks into the cake making it super lucious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 168) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Sour Cream Bundt Cake

Discover the no-fail way to make moist chocolate Bundt cake.

Mardi Gras King Cake

Make the famous New Orleans cake with the surprise inside!

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States