Glazed Almond Bundt Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2007
Made this for my sons birthday, big hit!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2007
I have just enjoyed a slice of this cake! I will cook again. I increased the almond extract over the vanilla in the cake, and liked that very much. Do not overbake (mine took 42 min.), and do not overmix. I doubled the glaze, and liked that (poked holes in the top only). For ground almonds, if using a food processor, do small amounts at a time with a little sugar or flour taken from your recipe. This absorbs oil and keeps the almonds from going to paste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2007
I made this cake in 6 individual Bundt pans. I baked it for 40 minutes, but I think that was a bit too long. Very tasty cake though and the flower-shaped Bundt pans made a beautiful presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2007
I adjusted this recipe slightly - 45 minute bake time was plenty and I poked holes in the bottom and poured some of the glaze (made with confectioner's sugar)on it. The top glazed perfectly with some liquid adjustment. After cooling, I wrapped the cake in plastic wrap and stored it at cooler (not refrigerated) temperatures for 2 days before it was eaten. It kept perfectly -still very moist and with pronounced almond flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
This cake comes out perfect. I am not an experienced baker and I got many compliments on this cake. It is a good base cake recipe that can be made with many modifications. I made it with 2 tsp lemon extract instead of almond extract and an orange glaze and it was really really great. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2006
Use powder sugar for glaze Cook 45 mins 350 - 1 hr is too long
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SuzyQ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Orange, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2006
Really moist, even with ingredient changes (soy margarine for butter and soy milk for milk). I also added a little soy margarine to the glaze for extra buttery flavor. This would be great with a raspberry sauce, and I'll probably make some sort of topping for it when I bake it again. Downside is that it's not nearly as soft and moist the second day, even though I baked it late at night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENHERE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miramar, Florida, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2006
SPECTACULAR CAKE!!!!! I ve made it 2 times now and I didn't change a thing about this recipe, except the cooking time. In my Bundt cake pan this cake is done at 45-50 minutes...and I don't think my oven is "off" by that much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momto2sweetpeas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yakima, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2006
I substituted Silk vanilla soymilk for the milk in the recipe. I also substituted 2 1/2 - 3 Tablespoons Silk vanilla soymilk in the glaze and 2 cups of powdered sugar for the granulated sugar. Good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2006
I made this yesterday and took it into work today. It was completely gone by 2:00 and two people demanded the recipe. I used confectioners sugar in the glaze as granulated would be grainy (unless maybe it would be cooked to dissolve it). The glaze was very runny though, next time I'll probably start with 1-2 Tbsp milk and then add more if needed. That would probably make the almonds stick better to the cake, as is they just run down the sides with the glaze. I might try this with pecans or walnuts too. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Germantown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 168) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Sour Cream Bundt Cake

Discover the no-fail way to make moist chocolate Bundt cake.

Mardi Gras King Cake

Make the famous New Orleans cake with the surprise inside!

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States