Glazed Almond Bundt Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2008
Absolutely delicious. I wouldn't change the recipe one bit. The combination of granulated sugar in the glaze with the toasted almonds was perfect. Definitely start checking for doneness by 45 minutes. The best way to grind the almonds is to pulse them in a food processor with a little bit of the flour. Be sure to use pulse, and be sure to use flour so you don't end up with almond butter instead of ground almonds. You can also use a coffee grinder (if you've never used it on coffee) or your blender. I served this warm with raspberry coulis and an Amaretto hard sauce. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Steidl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Coon Rapids, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
My family LOVED this cake. I usually screw my recipes up a few times b4 I get it right but with everyones reviews I aced it on the first try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsWoodall

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
Wonderful! I made this for my Grandpa's birthday today and there's nothing left. Everyone had 2 pieces!! I did have trouble getting it out of the pan so next time I'll spend more time I'll make sure I follow the directions. Seriously wonderful cake!! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2008
Everyone loved this cake when I made it. To help with the thin glaze, I put it in the fridge while the cake was baking and cooling. Perfect for big family gatherings and I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2008
A`keeper for sure!! It's the perfect cake! Moist but not oily. I cut the sugar to 1 1/2cup coz the glaze is pretty sweet and it's just right on spot for my non-sweet tooth. Make sure you use powdered sugar in the glazed (i use 70gr confectioner sugar mixed with 1tbs milk, 1tbs lemon juice n almond extract) and it's just the perfect consistency. Oh, btw, i check my cake after 40mnts coz the other reviewer said it takes them 40-45mnts, but in my oven it takes 60mnts..so just make sure to poke it with a skewer to test the doneness coz i think every oven are different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cajoeen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2008
Sorry, this was just ok for us. Followed recipe exactly, had some almond flavor, but other than that was rather bland. Also interestingly enough, although it looked moist, it was a little on the dry side. Won't be making this one again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warren, Michigan, USA
Living In: Macomb, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2008
Amazing. My family's favorite cake. I bake it in my Pampered Chef Bundt pan and it comes out perfect. It just falls out of the pan when inverted. Cake is very moist and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
I didn't actually use the cake recipe, I had one of my own, I used the glaze part of the recipe, only I doubled it, and added about 1/4 tsp more vanilla, and 1/4 tsp of almond extract, and 1 Tbls of butter. It was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Signal Mountain, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2008
I listened to others and cutr the vanilla and incrteased the almond extract. Also I decided since people were having trouble with the glaze to skip it. I dusted the cake with powder sugar, then made a lemon sauce and served it warm over the cake. It was a really big hit. The alomond and lemon flavor was outstanding. It is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2008
I haven't yet tried this recipe as a bundt cake, but I did use it to make 96 mini-cupcakes which I frosted with chocolate buttercream. Went down a treat at my garden club. I added a bit more extract (I am always upping the extract) and I did double the almond meal because I had bought a lot on sale that I needed to use up. I would say the double almonds made the texture a bit gritty - more like a shortcake than a regular cake, but the taste was excellent. We also ate some of the unfrosted cupcakes in a bowl with "canned in juice" peach slices and heavy cream and that was absolute heaven. I think next time, I will make this recipe specifically to use as a shortcake. The almond flavor is just right with peaches and cream and strawberry season is just around the corner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Mardi Gras King Cake

Make the famous New Orleans cake with the surprise inside!

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States