Glazed Almond Bundt Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
I made this to go along with the traditional Thanksgiving desserts. It got rave reviews from those with a more "sophisticated" taste! I only gave it four stars since the little I had leftover seemed to lose its "moistness" if not eaten up fairly quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MONA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
I have now made two of these beautiful cakes, and I believe the answer to the glaze is to heat it long enough to dissolve the sugar. That thickens it a bit, and it dries beautifully, glazing the top of the cake nicely with almonds staying in place. To richen it a bit, I used 1/2 cup sour cream and 1/2 cup evaporated milk in place of the milk. For a party tomorrow, I will fill the center with sliced strawberries and serve it with whipped cream. Great recipe, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MexicoKaren

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Bucerias, Nayarit, Mexico
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
I made this cake for our Christmas Eve dinner; I wasn't so keen on trying out a new recipe when we were going to have a guest but when the BEAUTIFUL cake was set on the table and sliced oh-so-cleanly, I was stunned. This cake had fabulous (or should I say perfect?) flavor & a fluffy, soft, and slightly moist texture. I was afraid of getting a dry crumbly cake but was pleasantly surprised. MY MODIFICATIONS: I used margarine in place of butter, only 1 and 1/2 cups of sugar (which was still a lot but tolerable), 2 teaspoons of almond extract, and in the glaze I used confectioners' sugar (and I used a bit more than the recipe called for since it was a bit runny). I made the cake in the morning and let it sit all day, and it wasn't dry. It's just as moist and tasty after a night in the fridge. Oh yeah and MAKE SURE THAT YOU CHECK ON THE CAKE about every 10 minutes after the first 30 minutes. Mine was cooked to perfection a long time before the recipe claimed it would be done. THANK YOU for this stunning recipe that I'll use over and over again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tibbadee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2008
Absolutely delicious. I wouldn't change the recipe one bit. The combination of granulated sugar in the glaze with the toasted almonds was perfect. Definitely start checking for doneness by 45 minutes. The best way to grind the almonds is to pulse them in a food processor with a little bit of the flour. Be sure to use pulse, and be sure to use flour so you don't end up with almond butter instead of ground almonds. You can also use a coffee grinder (if you've never used it on coffee) or your blender. I served this warm with raspberry coulis and an Amaretto hard sauce. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Steidl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Coon Rapids, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
My family LOVED this cake. I usually screw my recipes up a few times b4 I get it right but with everyones reviews I aced it on the first try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsWoodall

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
Wonderful! I made this for my Grandpa's birthday today and there's nothing left. Everyone had 2 pieces!! I did have trouble getting it out of the pan so next time I'll spend more time I'll make sure I follow the directions. Seriously wonderful cake!! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2008
Everyone loved this cake when I made it. To help with the thin glaze, I put it in the fridge while the cake was baking and cooling. Perfect for big family gatherings and I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2008
A`keeper for sure!! It's the perfect cake! Moist but not oily. I cut the sugar to 1 1/2cup coz the glaze is pretty sweet and it's just right on spot for my non-sweet tooth. Make sure you use powdered sugar in the glazed (i use 70gr confectioner sugar mixed with 1tbs milk, 1tbs lemon juice n almond extract) and it's just the perfect consistency. Oh, btw, i check my cake after 40mnts coz the other reviewer said it takes them 40-45mnts, but in my oven it takes 60mnts..so just make sure to poke it with a skewer to test the doneness coz i think every oven are different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cajoeen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2008
Sorry, this was just ok for us. Followed recipe exactly, had some almond flavor, but other than that was rather bland. Also interestingly enough, although it looked moist, it was a little on the dry side. Won't be making this one again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warren, Michigan, USA
Living In: Macomb, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2008
Amazing. My family's favorite cake. I bake it in my Pampered Chef Bundt pan and it comes out perfect. It just falls out of the pan when inverted. Cake is very moist and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 163) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Mardi Gras King Cake

Make the famous New Orleans cake with the surprise inside!

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

How to Make King Cake

Watch how to make this festive Mardi Gras cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States