Gkai Kamin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
we really enjoyed this after a few alterations to suit our tastes and using what we had on hand.. three whole chicken quarters for the whole chicken.. 1 tsp salt (2 T sounded way too salty).. took librarylady's advice and used 5 tsp of ground turmeric (dry) for the fresh and 1 tsp ground black pepper for the white pepper corns.. added some water to make it more of a paste.. stuffed the paste under the skin and rubbed the rest over the skin.. marinated for almost 24 hours.. squeezed lemon juice over the finished product.. without the alterations i think this would have been a very salty, overly earthy dish.. ty for the inspiration to make something different work for us
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arcadia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
I embraced the yellow-stained fingers when I made this! It finally wore off. Fresh turmeric is bizarre, a creepy looking brown tuber that is bright orange when you peel it. The chicken with this rub on it was flavorful, almost citrusy, a pretty subtle flavor to me, but I really liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cheesemite

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coldwater, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
This is a winner. The flavor is deep, and well-spiced, but not overpowering. The chicken was juicy and the texture of the rub was really great. I have never had anything made with fresh turmeric before. I will surely make this recipe in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SeattleFarmersMarketGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
Ok...I Really wanted this recipe to work because it had some great reviews and I had just found fresh lemongrass and turmeric tubers at the market. Sorry to say it just Didn't work for me. The turmeric was way too overpowering and I ended up with too much "paste" although I used a 5 lb chicken and the recipe calls for a 2-3 lb one? After cooking I ended up wiping off what I could of the turmeric and the chicken was still edible but only so-so in flavor. I looked online at other versions to see what I might have done wrong and I think the measures on this recipe are just off. Other similiar recipes call for two, 2 inch pieces of turmeric, it took far more than that for me to get 5T chopped. I don't think I'll be trying this again even with the modification to the turmeric amount. Sorry!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2007
Holy cow! This was good! I pounded the garlic, salt and pepper in the mortar and pestle, then mixed it with dry turmeric (5 tsp) and about 3 tbsp of lemongrass paste in a separate bowl (no staining). I used two 1 1/2 lb. cornish hens, butterflied, marinated overnight in a ziploc bag, and grilled them for 15 minutes skin-side down, then 10 minutes on the other side. Hubby says it's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2007
I've used this recipe several times now with some slight variations with what I had on hand. I used ground lemon grass in a tube, and I used 2 TBSP of dried ground tumeric. I put all the marinade ingredients in a ziploc bag and used a mallet to crush it all together. I then scooped the paste out and rubbed it all over the chicken, put the chicken back in the bag and marinated for several hours. It is a DELICIOUS way to prepare chicken, and has become one of our favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mollycurls77

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bridgewater, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2007
My lemon grass was way too tough to grind to a paste, so I prepared the rest of the marinade, rubbed it onto the chicken, then mixed in the lengths of lemon grass, stirring them in through the course of the day. As a result, the lemon flavor was barely noticeable which was a shame as I think it would have worked really well with the other flavors. I'll try this again when I get tender grindable lemon grass. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2006
WOW! Yummy. I did have to change a few things because of what I had in the house. I used lemon grass in a tube, and I used ground turmeric from the spice rack. I will say that using this much turmeric turns you hands yellow and will stain your clothes. I wil luse gloves next time. Thanks Add Lim
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2006
My husband and I enjoyed this recipe very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2005
Delicious! A word of caution though, this has permanently stained my marble mortar and pestle a bright orange. Any ideas on how to remove the stain?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indonesian Satay

See how to make traditional Indonesian chicken satay and peanut dipping sauce.

Five Spice Grilled Chicken

See a quick-and-easy recipe for fabulous, five-spice grilled chicken.

Nong’s Khao Man Gai Chicken

See how one determined cook turned a tasty Thai dish into a recipe for success.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States