Give Me Seconds Oyster Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
I made this recipe as a side dish - it has great flavor but is a little wet. I had to cook it about 10 minutes longer in order for it to dry out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Washington, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
Made this for Thanksgiving and Christmas last year and will be making it again this year. I had to double it because it went so fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by julsbythesea

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arroyo Grande, California, USA
Living In: Bodfish, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
Not only was this the most complimented dish at my Thanksgiving table last year, it is the one dish that I can't stop thinking about for this year! It is so good, it even beats my own mother's recipe. I really love this dish. Totally worth the cost of the oysters! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
it was "trying" to taste good, but just didnt do it for me, i followed it to the tee, i think its me, i didnt like the worshire sauce taste, mixed with the oysters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by onecent42

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Roanoke Rapids, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
Two chef's in the family & both asked for the recipe, will make this often, not just holidays
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie 2chefs

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
The taste was there but it was runny and just didn't seem like a dressing. I thought it was a waste of expensive oysters. To salvage the dish I had to pull them out and put them in a seasoned batter and flash fry them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
This was soooo good! I'm making it again with roasted chicken four days after thanksgiving. I find that you must use eastern oysters, I made it with both pacific and eastern, the eastern made a huge difference
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
My paternal grandmother and then mom, made this every Christmas eve dinner since I was a little girl. We didn't add Worcestershire sauce so I'll have to try that. Sadly my mom passed away this year so I'll be carrying on the tradition. After reading a few recipes here, I'm going to use this as the base and add, celery, onion and some poultry seasonings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chesterfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
This is basically my scalloped oyster dressing that I have been making for 40 years or more. My only change is to add a tablespoon of Worcestershire sauce to the cream before pouring it over the oysters. Not everyone likes them but that's alright with my son and law and myself - all the more for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mema

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Glens Falls, New York, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Oyster Dressing or Stuffing

See how to make the perfect Thanksgiving stuffing for seafood lovers.

Sausage and Oyster Stuffing

Traditional bread stuffing gets a kick from Creole seasonings, sausage, and oyste

Grandma’s Corn Bread Dressing

See how to make a corn bread dressing flavored with a touch of sage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States