Give Me Seconds Oyster Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
I made this recipe as a side dish - it has great flavor but is a little wet. I had to cook it about 10 minutes longer in order for it to dry out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Washington, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
Not only was this the most complimented dish at my Thanksgiving table last year, it is the one dish that I can't stop thinking about for this year! It is so good, it even beats my own mother's recipe. I really love this dish. Totally worth the cost of the oysters! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
Made this for Thanksgiving and Christmas last year and will be making it again this year. I had to double it because it went so fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by julsbythesea

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arroyo Grande, California, USA
Living In: Bodfish, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
The taste was there but it was runny and just didn't seem like a dressing. I thought it was a waste of expensive oysters. To salvage the dish I had to pull them out and put them in a seasoned batter and flash fry them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
Two chef's in the family & both asked for the recipe, will make this often, not just holidays
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie 2chefs

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
it was "trying" to taste good, but just didnt do it for me, i followed it to the tee, i think its me, i didnt like the worshire sauce taste, mixed with the oysters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by onecent42

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Roanoke Rapids, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
This was soooo good! I'm making it again with roasted chicken four days after thanksgiving. I find that you must use eastern oysters, I made it with both pacific and eastern, the eastern made a huge difference
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
This is basically my scalloped oyster dressing that I have been making for 40 years or more. My only change is to add a tablespoon of Worcestershire sauce to the cream before pouring it over the oysters. Not everyone likes them but that's alright with my son and law and myself - all the more for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mema

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Glens Falls, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
My paternal grandmother and then mom, made this every Christmas eve dinner since I was a little girl. We didn't add Worcestershire sauce so I'll have to try that. Sadly my mom passed away this year so I'll be carrying on the tradition. After reading a few recipes here, I'm going to use this as the base and add, celery, onion and some poultry seasonings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chesterfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Oyster Dressing or Stuffing

See how to make the perfect Thanksgiving stuffing for seafood lovers.

Sausage and Oyster Stuffing

Traditional bread stuffing gets a kick from Creole seasonings, sausage, and oyste

Grandma’s Corn Bread Dressing

See how to make a corn bread dressing flavored with a touch of sage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States