Gisela's Butternut Squash Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2015
Really nice soup, made it so easy with packaged butternut squash cubes. I used cream cheese in place of sour cream, and used 1 orange zest + juice as recommended, it had a nice hint of orange but not overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
I was surprised by how good this was given it was so simple. Yes ONE orange. You could also substitute greek yogurt, soy yogurt, goat kefir etc. to add creaminess instead of sour cream. It was very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
I used Coconut Milk as part of the liquid. So very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
Nice and light. Very flavorful. Wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
I think I prefer the more savory side of butternut squash recipes. I ended up adding thyme, black pepper, ginger and curry to counterbalance the orange. And I only used half an orange!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
Outstanding recipe! I roasted my squash first in the oven.I sliced them lengthwise, brushed them with olive oil and salt, and placed them flesh-side down at 350 degrees for 1 1/2 hours. I hate peeling squash, saves a lot of labor if you have the time for them to bake. Just scoop out the baked squash into the pot! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
Yum - used a bit less butter and Greek yogurt instead of sour cream at the end so it was a little more lo-cal. Delicious. The pot was gone in no time! Costco's peeled and cubed squash make this so easy! Update: I had a little too much squash last time I made this and not quite enough broth so I added about a half cup of white wine. Also a few shakes of ground ginger and cayenne. I also just use about a cup of OJ instead of juicing and zesting an actual orange.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
Oh, this is such a wonderful butternut recipe. Not only is it simple and quick to make the taste is divine! The orange is the right amount of flavor, and the color is amazing. Just add a little chopped parsley and the presentation of this soup is a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
Fantastic! I added a little of nutmeg and cinnamon at the end for a touch of flavoring...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
Used frozen butternut squash that was already cubed. Also a dash of cream instead of sour cream. I added some sage and ginger but powdered and some salt and pepper. Was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Congers, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States