Giovanna's Yummy Cheese Onions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2005
Many thanks to Giovanna!! This is fabulous, I just served this at our Easter dinner (with ham) and everyone in my family enjoyed it, most had seconds. We are all pretty much onion lovers anyway but never have I had onions fixed this way. I followed the recipe to a tee, I did strain the onions because there was quite a bit of liquid in the pan that I thought should not end up in the sauce...glad I did, it was just perfect!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wyattdogster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 31, 2009
This recipe rated 5 stars with me - and I'm a hard marker! It came out of the oven hot and creamy - slightly browned on the top. The family raved about it - even my daughter who dislikes onions. Used Ritz crackers rather than breadcrumbs. I think the secret to making this dish is to cook the sliced onions with a gentle saute first - take your time! When they start becoming translucent - thats when they are ready. This receipe will be a keeper in this house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LEVDAWG

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bow, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2005
I brought this to a potluck and the dish was scraped clean. Everyone loved it. I used one cup of Monterey Jack and one cup of Gruyere for a little extra flavor. Next time I may try adding a bit of gorgonzola.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2006
I thought this was good, maybe a little bland but husband RAVED. I used some ailing garlic tostini as my seasoned breadcrumbs. Will definitely make again but might try to "doctor" a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEGBAUM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ashland, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Phenix City, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2005
I made this for a famly dinner three Chrismas's ago. I've been asked to make it every Chrismas since and I believe everyone in the family has asked me for the recipe. Over the years, I have tweaked it a bit to my own liking. I double the white sauce and don't add the cheese to it. I layer the cheese in with the rest of the layers ending with cheese on top. If you like onions, you'll love this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lawton, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2002
We love onions, but found that when made according to the recipe this one comes up short. The cheese sauce was a little gooey from the flour, and when finished baking, the onions were not cooked enough. Perhaps I need more details in the directions about what to expect at various stages. All is not lost though as I may try it again with my own little tweeks like carmelizing the onions first and thinning the cheese sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Douglasville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2002
I made this recipe for Thanksgiving and everyone raved about it. It was fast, easy and absolutely delicious. The only thing I would add the next time would be a touch of paprika or cayenne to add a little zip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
So amazing! Everyone loved it this Thanksgiving and is requesting that I make it for Christmas as well. The only thing I changed was the milk to half and half. It made it rich and wonderful!.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Burbank, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2005
I made this without any changes and it was pretty good. I think my wife liked it better than I. Next time instead of using bread crumbs, I will use Ritz Cracker crumbs instead. That will give it a little more pazaaz!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROOKIE COOKIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Big Stone Gap, Virginia, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2004
I've made this twice. First time cooked onions as directed, and the whole thing was runny. Second time I put the onions in the crockpot overnight, drained them and then made the casserole and got rave reviews. Numerous people asked for the recipe. I'll definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam Park

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beans with Pearl Onions

An easy balsamic glaze provides a flavor twist to this classic green beans dish.

Awesome Broccoli Cheese Casserole

See how to make a classic, creamy and cheesy broccoli casserole.

Absolute Best Liver and Onions

This recipe will make a liver lover out of even the pickiest eater.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States