Giovanna's Yummy Cheese Onions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
Turned out great for a TG gathering! I made this gluten free by using GF flour and crunching up some Nut Thins to use as bread crumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2012
Made in my slow cooker and was very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by darsbob

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
I wouldn't want this for an everyday dinner of a meat and just one or two sides ... too rich. But as one of several sides for a holiday meal or pot luck dinner, it's very good. We served it for Christmas dinner this year, and everyone loved it. (My nephew suggested making it the base for a ham casserole, which might be an idea worth experimentation.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Madison, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
very good! after reading other reviews, i used garlic salt instead of regular salt, a blend of cheddar and Monterey jack cheeses, added a bit of hot sauce (my favorite is cholula), and panko instead of seasoned bread crumbs (personal preference). everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2009
This recipe rated 5 stars with me - and I'm a hard marker! It came out of the oven hot and creamy - slightly browned on the top. The family raved about it - even my daughter who dislikes onions. Used Ritz crackers rather than breadcrumbs. I think the secret to making this dish is to cook the sliced onions with a gentle saute first - take your time! When they start becoming translucent - thats when they are ready. This receipe will be a keeper in this house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LEVDAWG

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bow, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2008
I liked this recipe. I didn't need to make any changes, and I don't think it needs any but it didn't make anyone in my house "ooh" and "aah". I will probably make this again but it is not going to be a regular feature at my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coppingford, Huntingdonshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
So amazing! Everyone loved it this Thanksgiving and is requesting that I make it for Christmas as well. The only thing I changed was the milk to half and half. It made it rich and wonderful!.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Burbank, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
This was very good. It had a rich onion texture without the staunch of a strong onion. I baked a tad bit longer and then let sit to soak up the flavor. There were no leftovers. I will make this dish again for church or dinner at home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Claudine "Chancy" H.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elk Grove, California, USA
Living In: Cat Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2006
I thought this was good, maybe a little bland but husband RAVED. I used some ailing garlic tostini as my seasoned breadcrumbs. Will definitely make again but might try to "doctor" a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEGBAUM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ashland, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Phenix City, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2005
I made this without any changes and it was pretty good. I think my wife liked it better than I. Next time instead of using bread crumbs, I will use Ritz Cracker crumbs instead. That will give it a little more pazaaz!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROOKIE COOKIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Big Stone Gap, Virginia, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beans with Pearl Onions

An easy balsamic glaze provides a flavor twist to this classic green beans dish.

Awesome Broccoli Cheese Casserole

See how to make a classic, creamy and cheesy broccoli casserole.

Absolute Best Liver and Onions

This recipe will make a liver lover out of even the pickiest eater.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States