Giovanna's Yummy Cheese Onions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
Turned out great for a TG gathering! I made this gluten free by using GF flour and crunching up some Nut Thins to use as bread crumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2012
Made in my slow cooker and was very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by darsbob

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
I wouldn't want this for an everyday dinner of a meat and just one or two sides ... too rich. But as one of several sides for a holiday meal or pot luck dinner, it's very good. We served it for Christmas dinner this year, and everyone loved it. (My nephew suggested making it the base for a ham casserole, which might be an idea worth experimentation.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Madison, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
very good! after reading other reviews, i used garlic salt instead of regular salt, a blend of cheddar and Monterey jack cheeses, added a bit of hot sauce (my favorite is cholula), and panko instead of seasoned bread crumbs (personal preference). everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2009
This recipe rated 5 stars with me - and I'm a hard marker! It came out of the oven hot and creamy - slightly browned on the top. The family raved about it - even my daughter who dislikes onions. Used Ritz crackers rather than breadcrumbs. I think the secret to making this dish is to cook the sliced onions with a gentle saute first - take your time! When they start becoming translucent - thats when they are ready. This receipe will be a keeper in this house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LEVDAWG

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bow, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2008
I liked this recipe. I didn't need to make any changes, and I don't think it needs any but it didn't make anyone in my house "ooh" and "aah". I will probably make this again but it is not going to be a regular feature at my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coppingford, Huntingdonshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
So amazing! Everyone loved it this Thanksgiving and is requesting that I make it for Christmas as well. The only thing I changed was the milk to half and half. It made it rich and wonderful!.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Burbank, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
This was very good. It had a rich onion texture without the staunch of a strong onion. I baked a tad bit longer and then let sit to soak up the flavor. There were no leftovers. I will make this dish again for church or dinner at home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Claudine "Chancy" H.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elk Grove, California, USA
Living In: Cat Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2006
I thought this was good, maybe a little bland but husband RAVED. I used some ailing garlic tostini as my seasoned breadcrumbs. Will definitely make again but might try to "doctor" a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEGBAUM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ashland, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Phenix City, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2005
I made this without any changes and it was pretty good. I think my wife liked it better than I. Next time instead of using bread crumbs, I will use Ritz Cracker crumbs instead. That will give it a little more pazaaz!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROOKIE COOKIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Big Stone Gap, Virginia, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beans with Pearl Onions

An easy balsamic glaze provides a flavor twist to this classic green beans dish.

Awesome Broccoli Cheese Casserole

See how to make a classic, creamy and cheesy broccoli casserole.

How to Make Crispy Onion Rings

Watch Chef John make the crispiest onion rings ever!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States