Ginny's Cheezy Macaroni Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2003
This recipe would have been great if I'd actually read the recipe right. I cooked the macaroni before putting it in the pan which resulted in a large, milky mess. I could tell by the few top pieces that made it, that it would have tasted good had I done it correctly. Now I know to use raw macaroni for the next time and I do plan on trying again! Oh well...OOPS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
100 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blackwood, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Burlington, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2007
This is the BEST macaroni and cheese ever! I used cheddar and jack cheese and added some garlic & onion powder. REMEMBER--use UNCOOKED macaroni, not cooked. So easy and great homemade flavor. You have got to try this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2002
Being a budget-savvy college student, macaroni & cheese is a pretty common meal to my kind. I had the pasta and a package of cheese, I was going to just boil the pasta, drain, and add the cheese, but I'm pretty sure the results would've been clumpy and undesirable. So when I stumbled upon this recipe, I was psyched to see that I already had all the ingredients, and that it was easy and quick to prepare. I just threw it together, hit the books (actually the video games, but "the books" sounds more responsible) and an hour later had a good meal whose leftovers lasted me a few days. And to add some more nutrition, I had it w/ a little frozen broccoli and cheese on the side (Mom should be proud). Overall, this is a simple and tasty dish that most people probably already the the ingredients for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
I loved this recipe! I made it with 15 servings for a family gathering and everyone loved it. The only changes I made were to use less salt, instead of just cheddar I used monterey jack also and cover it while baking. From covering the pan there wasn't any of the crunchy stuff on the top and it was really cheesy and soft. Before serving I stirred it to mix up the cheese and milk on the bottom of the pan, added more cheese to the top and re-covered to let the cheese melt on the way to grandma's house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2007
This is a good recipe. I believe that for those who found it to be too milky and watery they should have let it sit out of the oven for about ten minutes giving it time to sit up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2012
This is EXACTLY how Mom made her Macaroni and Cheese only she used shredded gov'ment cheese. I get the same result now if I use half Velveeta, half sharp cheddar cheese. Comfort food at it's best. When I make this, my family inhales it. If you have a larger family or want seconds, best double the recipe. Follow the directions exact and it will come out exactly as it should--do not peek at your dish, leave it be for that whole hour it's baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2004
This is as good as any "homestyle, southern comfort food" recipe I have ever tried. Fluffy and golden on the top. And so easy, not to have to boil the macaroni! I used small shells. Perfect. Keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peach822

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fernandina Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2007
I thought this recipe was great! I will definitely make it more often. I tweaked it a little, because I'm notorious for that. After I added the cheddar cheese, I added a little Mozzarella cheese as well, and then I sprinkled a little onion powder evenly over the top. About halfway through the cooking time, I sprinkled a few dry bread crumbs over the top to add a little crunch, and it was EXCELLENT! I don't have measurments for the things I added, b/c I don't measure, I just wing it, and make it my own!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
Awesome my husband loves this reminds him of his grandmothers, who made the best. I use low fat cheese and skim milk and it is wonderful and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2005
Like many of the other who've rated this, I tweaked a few things. I followed the recipe at first, but it didn't seem like two and a half cups of pasta was covering the bottom of the pan, so I threw in the rest of the pasta and another Tb of butter (I used butter instead of margarine because it's what we had), and increased the milk by a little bit too. The only complaint I have with this recipe is that a few small bits of a few pieces of pasta didn't cook all the way, but I think that's more because I used twists instead of elbows. Another time I will try ziti or elbows so it's all very level. I was looking for a simple recipe for baked macaroni and cheese that would be soft and cheesy inside but with a crunchy top.. like my mother makes. This came out as close to hers as I can imagine. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom’s Favorite Baked Mac and Cheese

This creamy baked comfort food classic has two kinds of cheese.

Restaurant Style Mac and Cheese

Make rich, creamy macaroni and cheese on the stovetop.

Crispy Potato Chip Mac and Cheese

See how to make no-bake mac & cheese with a crispy-crunchy top.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States