Ginny's Cheezy Macaroni Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2002
Being a budget-savvy college student, macaroni & cheese is a pretty common meal to my kind. I had the pasta and a package of cheese, I was going to just boil the pasta, drain, and add the cheese, but I'm pretty sure the results would've been clumpy and undesirable. So when I stumbled upon this recipe, I was psyched to see that I already had all the ingredients, and that it was easy and quick to prepare. I just threw it together, hit the books (actually the video games, but "the books" sounds more responsible) and an hour later had a good meal whose leftovers lasted me a few days. And to add some more nutrition, I had it w/ a little frozen broccoli and cheese on the side (Mom should be proud). Overall, this is a simple and tasty dish that most people probably already the the ingredients for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2003
This recipe would have been great if I'd actually read the recipe right. I cooked the macaroni before putting it in the pan which resulted in a large, milky mess. I could tell by the few top pieces that made it, that it would have tasted good had I done it correctly. Now I know to use raw macaroni for the next time and I do plan on trying again! Oh well...OOPS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
100 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blackwood, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Burlington, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2003
How easy can it get! Easy ingredients that are always on hand...I used rigatoni noodles that just layered the bottom of the 9x13. Also, used colby jack shredded cheese and it was very cheezy...just the way we like it! My kids wanted 2nds..definitely cook again...if not once a week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2004
This recipe was easy and delicious. My boyfriend loved it. The leftovers were gone by the time I got home from work!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2004
This was very good. I did add some green onions and garlic powder. Next time I am going to drain a can of Rotel tomatoes and mix with the milk before pouring over the macaroni and cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2004
This was the easiest thing ever to put together!!!!! I made a few additions, though, as my family likes a doctored up macaroni and cheese: I added six hot dogs (sliced) to the macaroni. I added a small can of diced tomatoes, 1 Tablespoon of prepared mustard and 1/2 tsp of Worcestershire sauce and 2 Tablespoons of diced onion to the milk before I poured it over the top. I also added a bit more cheese (a 1/2 cup more???). Otherwise, I did everything according to the directions. It was quite moist with a nice crust of browned cheese on top. The flavour was FABULOUS and all in all we really liked it. We don't usually eat a baked macaroni and cheese, but this was SO easy and SO flavourful!!! A definate keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abby M

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2004
This was an easy recipe but I found it very greasy with not a lot of flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2004
I just took this out of the oven and it is GREAT! I had to adapt it somewhat because I am lactose intolerant. I also used more cheese because I did not think that the one 8 oz. bag would be enough. I used Veggie Slices brand shredded cheddar (suitable for vegans also) and Veggie Slices American and Swiss flavored slices. Stir the cheddar into the uncooked macaroni and butter mixture. Cover the top with slices. I also added seasoned bread crumbs (made my own, there are many recipes for them on this site, search for "croutons") then poured in the rice milk. It is a bit bland and slightly sweet (this is probably due to the Veggie cheese and rice milk). You will definitely want the salt and pepper and maybe some garlic powder, onion powder or Mrs. Dash. Very good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2004
This is the easiest and quickest add-on to a meal I have ever done. I love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2004
I am giving this 5 stars for the ease. I usually make mac and cheese by boiling the pasta and flour, onion etc. but it comes really close without the effort. I did add 1 tablespoon prepared mustard and 1/2 teaspoon worcestershire sauce as another reviewer suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

A buttery cracker topping and rich cheese sauce make it a family favorite.

Four-Cheese Macaroni

Watch how to make this top-rated macaroni and cheese recipe.

Smoky Mac & Cheese

Turn basic pantry ingredients into a creamy, spicy mac & cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States