Ginny's Cheezy Macaroni Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2007
The kids really liked this one. I was in a hurry, so to cut down on baking time, I boiled the pasta for a few minutes first. I used less milk and more cheese than called for and added bread crumbs to the top halfway through baking. This one is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janine Tryban Gilchrist

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Livonia, Michigan, USA
Living In: Elk Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2007
The plus is that this is very easy to throw together. The texture is my problem with it. My eight-year-old ate it and said it was okay. My three-yr-old would not eat it. I added the garlic and onion powders, used 2% milk, and lots of jack/cheddar mixed. I also sprinkled crushed Marzetti's Cheese and Garlic croutons on top (didn't have breadcrumbs). It smelled absolutely heavenly and the smell was driving us wild as it baked. We expected it to taste really good, too, but it was just okay. We all love mac-n-cheese, but I think it was too dry for us. It was like seasoned buttered noodles with a cheese "crust" on top. It didn't blend together. I am not sure how to fix that...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2007
The noodles cooked very well, and the top was a golden brown. Looked nice but it tasted like curdled milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2007
Maybe those that say the recipe is too watery used cooked macaroni. The recipe should definitely say "uncooked". I will make this again although I made a few changes to suit my taste. I used 3 cups of milk, 1 small can evaporated milk, and 8 oz sour cream. I mixed the cheeses 1/2 colby-jack and 1/2 cheddar. I threw some shredded velveeta in for good measure. My oven cooks too hot and an hour was way too long but I know to watch the things I bake at the end of the cook time and take out when done. Also, I put a couple of pinches of cayenne pepper. Very good taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jacksonville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2007
This is the BEST macaroni and cheese ever! I used cheddar and jack cheese and added some garlic & onion powder. REMEMBER--use UNCOOKED macaroni, not cooked. So easy and great homemade flavor. You have got to try this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2007
I've been searching for a while for the "perfect" macaroni and cheese recipe, and since this one looked so easy, I thought I'd give it a try. It smelled great, but when I went to serve it, it was all curdled looking inside. It was dry and greasy, and not creamy at all. It tasted ok, but it wasn't at all what I expect from a baked macaroni and cheese. My search continues....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marcy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lehigh Valley, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2007
This is a good recipe. I believe that for those who found it to be too milky and watery they should have let it sit out of the oven for about ten minutes giving it time to sit up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2007
I tried it twice, according to recipe once and a couple of adjustments the second. both times it tasted like cooked milk- not cheese. It was dry and, as my son says- ucky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Holcomb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2007
Excellent All went on plates!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ralph724

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2007
I thought this recipe was great! I will definitely make it more often. I tweaked it a little, because I'm notorious for that. After I added the cheddar cheese, I added a little Mozzarella cheese as well, and then I sprinkled a little onion powder evenly over the top. About halfway through the cooking time, I sprinkled a few dry bread crumbs over the top to add a little crunch, and it was EXCELLENT! I don't have measurments for the things I added, b/c I don't measure, I just wing it, and make it my own!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

A buttery cracker topping and rich cheese sauce make it a family favorite.

Four-Cheese Macaroni

Watch how to make this top-rated macaroni and cheese recipe.

Old School Mac 'N Cheese

This is homemade mac 'n cheese just like grandma used to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States