Ginny's Cheezy Macaroni Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2007
Maybe those that say the recipe is too watery used cooked macaroni. The recipe should definitely say "uncooked". I will make this again although I made a few changes to suit my taste. I used 3 cups of milk, 1 small can evaporated milk, and 8 oz sour cream. I mixed the cheeses 1/2 colby-jack and 1/2 cheddar. I threw some shredded velveeta in for good measure. My oven cooks too hot and an hour was way too long but I know to watch the things I bake at the end of the cook time and take out when done. Also, I put a couple of pinches of cayenne pepper. Very good taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jacksonville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2007
This is the BEST macaroni and cheese ever! I used cheddar and jack cheese and added some garlic & onion powder. REMEMBER--use UNCOOKED macaroni, not cooked. So easy and great homemade flavor. You have got to try this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2007
I've been searching for a while for the "perfect" macaroni and cheese recipe, and since this one looked so easy, I thought I'd give it a try. It smelled great, but when I went to serve it, it was all curdled looking inside. It was dry and greasy, and not creamy at all. It tasted ok, but it wasn't at all what I expect from a baked macaroni and cheese. My search continues....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marcy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lehigh Valley, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2007
This is a good recipe. I believe that for those who found it to be too milky and watery they should have let it sit out of the oven for about ten minutes giving it time to sit up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2007
I tried it twice, according to recipe once and a couple of adjustments the second. both times it tasted like cooked milk- not cheese. It was dry and, as my son says- ucky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trixie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2007
Excellent All went on plates!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ralph724

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2007
I thought this recipe was great! I will definitely make it more often. I tweaked it a little, because I'm notorious for that. After I added the cheddar cheese, I added a little Mozzarella cheese as well, and then I sprinkled a little onion powder evenly over the top. About halfway through the cooking time, I sprinkled a few dry bread crumbs over the top to add a little crunch, and it was EXCELLENT! I don't have measurments for the things I added, b/c I don't measure, I just wing it, and make it my own!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2006
I made this with only 3 cups of milk but it turned out great for me. I did add salt to my servings though. I liked that it was easy. I would make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hazel Park, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2006
this was watery and tastless---will not make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2006
This recipe was okay. It was super easy, the pasta cooked perfectly and the cheese was nicely melted, but it ended up very tasteless! I thought it might be when I first looked at it, so when cooking I made the following changes: I used a little under 4 cups of milk and added some sour cream for extra flavor. I also added diced red onion as well as a bit of garlic and some cayenne pepper to spice it up. For cheese, I used a mixture of colby jack, cheddar and a bit of parmesan. I thought that with all these additions it would be a very tasty dish, but it was still really bland. My family ate it, and my dad said it was good, but we all had to add a sprinkle of cayenne pepper powder and other spices to make it more appetizing. I still have leftovers in the fridge, which is also saying something! I think I would make it again, but I would add twice the garlic and cayenne and probably more sour cream. Thanks for a good, easy start!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Mom’s Favorite Baked Mac and Cheese

This creamy baked comfort food classic has two kinds of cheese.

Restaurant Style Mac and Cheese

Make rich, creamy macaroni and cheese on the stovetop.

Crispy Potato Chip Mac and Cheese

See how to make no-bake mac & cheese with a crispy-crunchy top.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States